Flag
  • Sign In
  • 0 items
  • Search
Welcome Guest! Please login to enable all features.

Notification

Icon
Error

mickyminx Offline
#1 Posted : Sunday, October 28, 2012 12:24:42 AM(UTC)
mickyminx

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 7/11/2012(UTC)
Posts: 30
United Kingdom

Thanks: 3 times
Was thanked: 13 time(s) in 7 post(s)
Hi

I just thought that I would let folk know that CCR and Sync will NOT work on windows 8, not even in compatibility, this appears to be due to the drivers.

PC please release windows 8 drivers as I can no longer update my equipment or use CCR

Thanks

 4 users thanked mickyminx for this useful post.
lildixiedreams85ffde98a3 on 10/29/2012(UTC), Sherri Kay on 10/29/2012(UTC), sarahbees on 10/29/2012(UTC), Radbunny on 1/2/2013(UTC)
Barbara Barabas Offline
#2 Posted : Monday, November 05, 2012 2:59:33 PM(UTC)
Barbara Barabas

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 5/27/2008(UTC)
Posts: 6

Thanks: 1 times
I have been trying all day to use the Craft Room on my new PC. I downloaded and installed it only to have it say "initializing Cricut Craft Room" for hours and not start. Then I read your post that says CCR will not work with Windows 8 and that is what I have on my new PC. I hope Cricut will make the CCR work with Windows 8 soon. I wanted my new laptop just for my scrapbooking stuff and using the CCR and now I can't use it. Such a bummer!Confused
Narelle Offline
#3 Posted : Monday, November 05, 2012 6:31:50 PM(UTC)
Narelle

Rank: Advanced Member

Medals: Cricut Circle Member: Member of the Cricut Circle

Groups: Circle Member, Registered
Joined: 9/26/2006(UTC)
Posts: 10,898
Australia
Location: Facebook: Cricut Lovers Guide to Design Space

Thanks: 2029 times
Was thanked: 7817 time(s) in 3649 post(s)
As well as running it in Windows 7 Compatibility mode, also select Run As Administrator and see if that makes any difference.

 5 users thanked Narelle for this useful post.
Calmom on 12/30/2012(UTC), BlingPrincessRia on 2/17/2013(UTC), GrannyAnne on 3/3/2013(UTC), Cricut Dani on 3/7/2013(UTC), pyewacket16ef45a0f7 on 3/19/2013(UTC)
audreyclarke84879d8a315f Offline
#4 Posted : Tuesday, November 06, 2012 12:51:05 PM(UTC)
audreyclarke84879d8a315f

Rank: Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 11/6/2012(UTC)
Posts: 17

Thanks: 4 times
Was thanked: 3 time(s) in 3 post(s)
BigGrin Thank you so much, I just got my Circut last week having just upgraded to Windows 8 and have been very frustrated trying to get it to work . I tried the compatibility mode which would not work and just came on here and found the message to try to run as administrator...perfect, works thank you !!
 1 user thanked audreyclarke84879d8a315f for this useful post.
CricketCMV on 11/6/2012(UTC)
Narelle Offline
#5 Posted : Tuesday, November 06, 2012 2:31:39 PM(UTC)
Narelle

Rank: Advanced Member

Medals: Cricut Circle Member: Member of the Cricut Circle

Groups: Circle Member, Registered
Joined: 9/26/2006(UTC)
Posts: 10,898
Australia
Location: Facebook: Cricut Lovers Guide to Design Space

Thanks: 2029 times
Was thanked: 7817 time(s) in 3649 post(s)
Originally Posted by: audreyclarke84879d8a315f Go to Quoted Post
BigGrin Thank you so much, I just got my Circut last week having just upgraded to Windows 8 and have been very frustrated trying to get it to work . I tried the compatibility mode which would not work and just came on here and found the message to try to run as administrator...perfect, works thank you !!


Thanks for letting me know it worked! BigGrin
 1 user thanked Narelle for this useful post.
CricketCMV on 11/6/2012(UTC)
barbieq Offline
#6 Posted : Wednesday, November 07, 2012 7:16:31 AM(UTC)
barbieq

Rank: Member

Medals: Cricut Circle Member: Member of the Cricut Circle

Groups: Registered, Circle Member
Joined: 8/26/2007(UTC)
Posts: 13
Location: Kentucky

Thanks: 4 times
Was thanked: 2 time(s) in 2 post(s)
Thank You......worked for me:)
 1 user thanked barbieq for this useful post.
Narelle on 11/7/2012(UTC)
scrappinnookc262b8bf Offline
#7 Posted : Wednesday, December 19, 2012 9:14:57 PM(UTC)
scrappinnookc262b8bf

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 12/19/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1

Thank you so much for the information for Windows 8, I was getting worried that I wasn't going to be able to use my cartridges that I recently purchased for CCR. You just made my day.
jenniferw0421447aec57 Offline
#8 Posted : Sunday, December 23, 2012 12:11:05 PM(UTC)
jenniferw0421447aec57

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 12/23/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1

How do you get to the properties to change it? I am new to all of this and SO lost.
rubyngreg5c11b3fa Offline
#9 Posted : Sunday, December 23, 2012 12:39:06 PM(UTC)
rubyngreg5c11b3fa

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 12/23/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1

I tried Windows 7 and XP compatibilty modes on my new Windows 8 laptop & ran in to the same problems discuused here - CCR either hung up or gave me an error message about installing drivers.

I believe I've found a fix ... after installing in Win 7 compatibility mode, I switched to Windows Vista - Service Pack 2 compatibility mode & now everything's working as expected. Installing in Win 7 mode might work as well. Didn't want to risk un/re-installing & take the chance of breaking something.

Please reply if you need additional instructions on setting/changing compatibilty modes.

Thx !!!
LisaHodge Offline
#10 Posted : Thursday, December 27, 2012 11:30:49 AM(UTC)
LisaHodge

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 12/26/2006(UTC)
Posts: 53
Location: North East Arkansas

Thanks: 12 times
Was thanked: 3 time(s) in 2 post(s)
I just got a new computer for Christmas and its Windows 8... I've tried to run as you all did here but nothing works for me. I wanted to use CCR on this computer but it's looking like a no for me. Any one else have this trouble too??
Thanks
melodylanedesigns Offline
#11 Posted : Thursday, December 27, 2012 1:00:04 PM(UTC)
melodylanedesigns

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 5/31/2011(UTC)
Posts: 2,391
Location: Kankakee IL

Thanks: 357 times
Was thanked: 1872 time(s) in 926 post(s)
I have windows 8 and it is working, I did what she said above. maybe it's because of viris protection software or you need to download adobe air and all that stuff?
talkinscrap Offline
#12 Posted : Thursday, December 27, 2012 9:54:40 PM(UTC)
talkinscrap

Rank: Advanced Member

Medals: Cricut Circle Member: Member of the Cricut Circle

Groups: Registered, Circle Member
Joined: 7/29/2006(UTC)
Posts: 784
Location: ohio

Thanks: 128 times
Was thanked: 280 time(s) in 180 post(s)
I have new windows 8 computer and was able to use windows 7 compatability mode and everything works just fine. I was even able to cut on my imagine which I haven't been able to do. One thing I really like is that I am able to use the touch screen to move images around in CCR. very cool
sflores216e0a39838 Offline
#13 Posted : Thursday, December 27, 2012 10:07:33 PM(UTC)
sflores216e0a39838

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 12/27/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2

I am having the same problem and am running Windows 8. I am on my second E2 as after 4 hours today on the phone with tech support only to find out that the unit I received for Christmas was defective. I will try the Administrator box as mentioned above and get back with you all. FRUSTRATING!!!
sflores216e0a39838 Offline
#14 Posted : Thursday, December 27, 2012 10:11:56 PM(UTC)
sflores216e0a39838

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 12/27/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2

ok, I am getting the error message from Cricut Sync saying device is detected but not responding. I got this message earlier and PC had me to a hard reset on my E2. I am unsure if I should do it on replacement unit or not. Guess I have spent enough time futzing with this whole thing today. I will be numero uno on the phone to PC in the am and make them fix it for me and keep them on the line until it is up an running properly! Come on PC hel out Windows 8 users!!! Angry
HelloTink Offline
#15 Posted : Friday, December 28, 2012 12:19:34 AM(UTC)
HelloTink

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 2/5/2010(UTC)
Posts: 212
Location: Florida

Thanks: 373 times
Was thanked: 67 time(s) in 50 post(s)
New laptop with Windows 8 - cricut craftroom won't work for me either. ThumbDown I tried the compatibility fix, etc., but it still won't work.
deeneysdesigns9b7fb692 Offline
#16 Posted : Friday, December 28, 2012 7:52:35 PM(UTC)
deeneysdesigns9b7fb692

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 12/28/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1

I as well have a new laptop with windows 8...when will that release be ready?Glare
shawnlyn72 Offline
#17 Posted : Friday, December 28, 2012 9:52:52 PM(UTC)
shawnlyn72

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 10/3/2008(UTC)
Posts: 3

BigGrin To the person who started this topic -
YOU ARE MY FAVORITE PERSON OF THE WEEK/MONTH and maybe longer!!!!

I was absolutely beside myself! I had practically begged for a mini machine for Christmas, and even found an amazing deal on them at Costco, but we don't have one where I live. I made it my Facebook status one day, thinking that my parents would see it and get me one. They didn't, but my brother-in-law and his wife (and my mother-in-law) saw it and they DO have Costco...we don't even usually exchange much in the way of gifts...but THEY BOUGHT ME MY MINI!!!! I was so excited, I couldn't even go to bed that night without getting it out.

So I got it out, I installed everything; I even cut the test project. It all worked beautifully, and was just what I was hoping for (I currently have the original E - this is lighter and seriously quieter)...

Imagine my chagrin when the next afternoon, Craft Room would not load!!! I followed every instruction I could find....nothing worked...I called PC, they said either my computer didn't have enough memory, or it was a problem with Adobe Air (it wasn't). But after a week, and many many secret tears, THIS WORKED!!! I am running it for Windows 95 compatibility, but hey...it loaded!!!!

This was the first time I had ever called PC for anything, and while The service was good, and the agent was polite, they seem to have no technical expertise at all. This does worry me a bit for a company I am buying electronic devices and software from...but they were nice, and they did try....I guess that's why they give us MB's as well, huh? Once again, please let me say thank you ever so much!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Edited by user Friday, December 28, 2012 9:56:12 PM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

melodylanedesigns Offline
#18 Posted : Monday, December 31, 2012 2:21:13 PM(UTC)
melodylanedesigns

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 5/31/2011(UTC)
Posts: 2,391
Location: Kankakee IL

Thanks: 357 times
Was thanked: 1872 time(s) in 926 post(s)
Narelle Thank you so much. I have still had people ask how I do this so I made a video and posted directions on my blog. I did give you credit on my blog that I learned this from you on the Cricut message boards.BigGrin
Barbara Barabas Offline
#19 Posted : Tuesday, January 01, 2013 7:02:47 PM(UTC)
Barbara Barabas

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 5/27/2008(UTC)
Posts: 6

Thanks: 1 times
I tried the compatibility thing but it didn't work. It is still stuck on "initializing Cricut Craft Room." I need help trying to get this to work. Any more ideas? Confused
Narelle Offline
#20 Posted : Tuesday, January 01, 2013 7:49:35 PM(UTC)
Narelle

Rank: Advanced Member

Medals: Cricut Circle Member: Member of the Cricut Circle

Groups: Circle Member, Registered
Joined: 9/26/2006(UTC)
Posts: 10,898
Australia
Location: Facebook: Cricut Lovers Guide to Design Space

Thanks: 2029 times
Was thanked: 7817 time(s) in 3649 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Barbara Barabas Go to Quoted Post
I tried the compatibility thing but it didn't work. It is still stuck on "initializing Cricut Craft Room." I need help trying to get this to work. Any more ideas? Confused


If windows 7 compatibility doesn't work, keep trying the other options in that drop down box.. Vista, XP etc.

Also make sure it's not your anti-virus program that's blocking CCR.
Barbara Barabas Offline
#21 Posted : Wednesday, January 02, 2013 5:00:12 PM(UTC)
Barbara Barabas

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 5/27/2008(UTC)
Posts: 6

Thanks: 1 times
How do I get my antivirus to quit interfering if that's the problem? I will try other versions to run it. Keeping my fingers crossed that one will work.
Barbara Barabas Offline
#22 Posted : Wednesday, January 02, 2013 5:14:41 PM(UTC)
Barbara Barabas

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 5/27/2008(UTC)
Posts: 6

Thanks: 1 times
I've tried all the different compatibility options and nothing worked. How do I remove the antivirus so that it does not interfere with the Cricut Craft Room? And if I do that, will it be removed from everything else on my computer so that I don't have antivirus protection?Crying
Radbunny Offline
#23 Posted : Wednesday, January 02, 2013 7:03:10 PM(UTC)
Radbunny

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 10/28/2006(UTC)
Posts: 130
Location: Arkansas

Thanks: 58 times
Was thanked: 50 time(s) in 34 post(s)
Windows 8 also makes the Rewards site not work. :(
CricutGena Offline
#24 Posted : Wednesday, January 02, 2013 9:02:07 PM(UTC)
CricutGena

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 3/28/2011(UTC)
Posts: 972

Thanks: 4 times
Was thanked: 997 time(s) in 319 post(s)
Hello all! If you are having trouble with your antivirus blocking the programs from working you must manage the exceptions in your antivirus to allow these programs to work:
• Cricut Sync
• Cricut Craft Room
CCRBRIDGE.EXE (this needs to be added from both the Cricut Sync program files folder and the Cricut Craft Room program files folder

Once these programs are allowed you should have no issues running the Sync or Craft Room programs. We do not recommend that you remove the antivirus program from your computers.

Also, if yo uare still having difficulties you can always contact customer service at 877-7cricut, we are always happy to help!

-Cricut Gena
 1 user thanked CricutGena for this useful post.
GrannyAnne on 3/3/2013(UTC)
Barbara Barabas Offline
#25 Posted : Thursday, January 03, 2013 6:04:45 AM(UTC)
Barbara Barabas

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 5/27/2008(UTC)
Posts: 6

Thanks: 1 times
Hello all! If you are having trouble with your antivirus blocking the programs from working you must manage the exceptions in your antivirus to allow these programs to work:
• Cricut Sync
• Cricut Craft Room
CCRBRIDGE.EXE (this needs to be added from both the Cricut Sync program files folder and the Cricut Craft Room program files folder

Once these programs are allowed you should have no issues running the Sync or Craft Room programs. We do not recommend that you remove the antivirus program from your computers.

Also, if yo uare still having difficulties you can always contact customer service at 877-7cricut, we are always happy to help!

-Cricut Gena

How do I do this? I am not real computer savvy so I so I need step by step instructions. Can you help me?
CricutGena Offline
#26 Posted : Thursday, January 03, 2013 10:18:03 PM(UTC)
CricutGena

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 3/28/2011(UTC)
Posts: 972

Thanks: 4 times
Was thanked: 997 time(s) in 319 post(s)
Hello Barbara! We can send you instructions on how to add exceptions to your antivirus, however each antivirus is different so there is not one set of instructions that fits all. I can suggest calling our friendly Customer Service representatives at 877-7cricut, we love to help our customers get up and running! Give us a call!
-Cricut Gena
BlingPrincessRia Offline
#27 Posted : Sunday, February 17, 2013 3:27:49 PM(UTC)
BlingPrincessRia

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 3/11/2008(UTC)
Posts: 4
Location: Missouri

Thanks: 1 times
So far as I know, Norton Antivirus doesn't allow exceptions. I tried to add CCR to the exceptions to no avail.

I got CCR up and running finally, running it in Win7 compatibility mode, with many thanks to Narelle. :) However, the computer won't recognize my Cricut when I plug it in. It recognizes my phone, so I know the USB ports work (they should, the computer's only 3 days old).

I am very computer savvy and consider myself a "technodiva," but even I'm at a loss now. At first I was wondering if maybe the USB ports 3.0 and I had 2.0 cables, but no, they're 2.0. I did a Google search for help and the first result was this thread. :)
reneepgoldsby787cf9f2 Offline
#28 Posted : Sunday, March 03, 2013 4:46:47 PM(UTC)
reneepgoldsby787cf9f2

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 3/3/2013(UTC)
Posts: 1

Originally Posted by: Narelle Go to Quoted Post
As well as running it in Windows 7 Compatibility mode, also select Run As Administrator and see if that makes any difference.



Thank You sooo much it worked; I've been sitting here for the past 3 hrs installing and uninstalling and finally thought let me google this issue!

Lifesaver!Love
jrmslla20051c9603a4 Offline
#29 Posted : Wednesday, March 06, 2013 4:08:03 PM(UTC)
jrmslla20051c9603a4

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 3/6/2013(UTC)
Posts: 1

its really frustrating that I just bought my new cricut and a new computer to use it and now I cant even use it I really hope it gets updated soon so I can use it because now its POINTLESS to own it!!! Angry
Users browsing this topic
Guest
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

Powered by YAF | YAF © 2003-2014, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 2.488 seconds.
nebo-cricut-04