Flag
  • Sign In
  • 0 items
  • Search
Welcome Guest! Please login to enable all features.

Notification

Icon
Error

mbvillagracia07146fe6 Offline
#1 Posted : Wednesday, April 03, 2013 1:04:40 PM(UTC)
mbvillagracia07146fe6

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 3/30/2013(UTC)
Posts: 1

I'm a newbie, just got my Expression 2, two days ago. I have been using the CCR and every time I cut I have to exit out of CCR and log back in for me to cut the next item, because if I don't the screen stays in "checking mat status" when I hit the "cut" button. This is really annoying, how do I fix this problem? Thanks!
CricketCMV Offline
#2 Posted : Wednesday, April 03, 2013 7:56:53 PM(UTC)
CricketCMV

Rank: Advanced Member

Medals: Cricut Circle Member: Member of the Cricut Circle

Groups: Registered, Circle Member
Joined: 2/21/2009(UTC)
Posts: 15,011
Location: Illinois

Thanks: 18563 times
Was thanked: 8155 time(s) in 4778 post(s)
Are you unloading your mat after the first CUT? If you do, the CUT function in CCR makes you go back out to the main screen until you are ready to hit CUT again.

If you want to make several cuts before going out to the main screen (and, in this way, you do not have to insert all the cartridges on your project every time you CUT), just arrow over to the next cut you want to make on your mat.

E.g., I sometimes know I want to cut four images before I go back out to the main screen. The images might be on different mat layers, but I know ahead of time I want to cut them all at the same time, place my papers on my virtual mat (in doing this, you need to make sure each mat layers image is placed exactly where your papers are placed on your virtual mat) AND start the CUT.

After the first CUT is finished, I merely arrow over to the next mat layer I want to CUT and hit CUT on that screen that is still there for me. AND, so on.

AS LONG AS YOU KEEP THE MAT LOADED INTO THE CRICUT MACHINE without unloading manually, you can CUT as many images as you want to cut on that CUT command in CCR before you have to start over again on the main screen.

Does this help? I hope it was understandable.

Char

Edited by user Wednesday, April 03, 2013 7:58:18 PM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

scrapalette Offline
#3 Posted : Wednesday, April 03, 2013 8:58:40 PM(UTC)
scrapalette

Rank: Advanced Member

Medals: Cricut Circle Member: Member of the Cricut Circle

Groups: Circle Member, Registered
Joined: 7/12/2008(UTC)
Posts: 23,785
United States
Location: FB: Cricut Lovers Guide to Design Space

Thanks: 8576 times
Was thanked: 19100 time(s) in 8532 post(s)
Originally Posted by: mbvillagracia07146fe6 Go to Quoted Post
I'm a newbie, just got my Expression 2, two days ago. I have been using the CCR and every time I cut I have to exit out of CCR and log back in for me to cut the next item, because if I don't the screen stays in "checking mat status" when I hit the "cut" button. This is really annoying, how do I fix this problem? Thanks!


If you're pressing Unload Mat from CCR, try unloading it manually on your E2.

In the updated version of CCR, you shouldn't be exiting the CUT screen after you press Unload Mat. It only exits when you press Done.
arzuyonak77570094 Offline
#4 Posted : Wednesday, April 10, 2013 1:28:25 AM(UTC)
arzuyonak77570094

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 2/21/2013(UTC)
Posts: 2

I have the same problem and it drives me absolutely crazy! After I cut my first mat, I have to completely close CCR, re-open the application, reload my project, re-connect my machine and go into cut again only to do ONE more mat. Then repeat the whole process all over again. I have 24 invitations I need to finish, I've been working for over 4 hours now and still haven't been able to cut even half the sheets I need. So stupid that it's taking me this long to cut when it took a fraction of the time to actually design all the layers.

I called Cricut support a couple of weeks ago to ask about this and they told me it's because I have a wireless hotspot connection, that my Wifi is "not connecting" which is necessary when cutting. Really?? Such a condescending excuse since it insinuates that I have no concept of how technology works. Cutting shouldn't have anything to do with the internet when my project is already loaded, it recognizes the layer I'm selecting and the machine is connected via USB. And even if it did, my internet browser loads pages just fine so I know there's not a problem with my connection. Not to mention that this isn't a random cuts sometimes/doesn't cut others situation -- it ALWAYS cuts the first time and get stuck on "checking mat status" on the next one.

It's just so disappointing the we INVEST this much money into a product plus all the accessories (mats, tools, cartridges) only to have a sub-standard experience. This isn't the only issue either: the included USB cord usually needs replaced, you can't have the machine connected when opening CCR, copy/paste places images at random, it takes forever to figure out the proper cutting area near the edges of the mat, sometimes not all of the images are cut or aren't cut completely, there are discrepancies in the proportions of images in CCR vs the actual cut, etc. etc..

When I spend $300+ I expect a machine that I can plug in, open an application, and make a few clicks to get a finished project. Not having to do a bunch of little tricks and research to figure out a way around a bunch of random issues.

Since it seems that Provocraft can't offer a simple fix and I'm not about to change my internet provider, I'm also wondering if anyone has a more practical solution?
CricketCMV Offline
#5 Posted : Wednesday, April 10, 2013 9:50:30 AM(UTC)
CricketCMV

Rank: Advanced Member

Medals: Cricut Circle Member: Member of the Cricut Circle

Groups: Registered, Circle Member
Joined: 2/21/2009(UTC)
Posts: 15,011
Location: Illinois

Thanks: 18563 times
Was thanked: 8155 time(s) in 4778 post(s)
Originally Posted by: arzuyonak77570094 Go to Quoted Post


It's just so disappointing the we INVEST this much money into a product plus all the accessories (mats, tools, cartridges) only to have a sub-standard experience. This isn't the only issue either: the included USB cord usually needs replaced, you can't have the machine connected when opening CCR, copy/paste places images at random, it takes forever to figure out the proper cutting area near the edges of the mat, sometimes not all of the images are cut or aren't cut completely, there are discrepancies in the proportions of images in CCR vs the actual cut, etc. etc..

?


Well....I didn't know you HAD to have Wi-Fi for CCR to work. I have Wi-Fi on my computers, but I only use the Wi-Fi connection for my laptop. The two computers that I have my two machines (an "E" and a "MINI") hooked up to are PC's that are plugged into the wall. They don't use the Wi-Fi connection. Are you able to use a computer that you plug in, rather than use the Wi-Fi connection and that you pay other internet charges to use the internet? Maybe I don't know what constitutes Wi-Fi, but I believe my Wi-Fi that is setup on my PC's for my laptop to be able to use Wi-Fi is for the laptop only. My computers aren't using Wi-Fi. I pay for internet service other than just the Wi-Fi. If you only pay for Wi-Fi, then I can see why you might incur problems using wireless.

However, I have heard others on here say they use wireless and have NO problems using CCR.

Are you saying you use a laptop and you only have a wireless capability? In that case, I can see why wireless might interfere with your cuts....although, I don't know why you would have the same problem everytime at the exact same time of your cuttings.

I keep my CRICUTs plugged into my computers at all times. I never have to unplug them. I have NEVER had problems with the images not cutting out all the way. I have never seen discrepancies in the proportions of the image layers and/or the images I'm cutting from what I see them on CCR's mat. They come out perfect everytime. MY EXPERIENCE IS THE TOTAL OPPOSITE OF SUB-STANDARD EXPERIENCE.

Why you have these issues is baffling, to say the least.

Have you ever had storms that caused your electricity to go out? If so, were your computers/CRICUTS on at the time of the outage? Maybe something is damaged in that respect. We use the surge protectors (and, from what I have read and believe, it is wise to buy the best you can to protect your computers and your TVs). I'm not crazy about spending the extra money, but we do. In addition, I don't just rely on those protectors. When I know there's going to be lightning and bad storms, I more than likely shutdown my computers, unplug my CRICUTS (from the wall; not necessarily from the USB ports on my computers) to protect them even further. Of course, there are times we're not home that these storms do occur...then, I totally rely on the surge protectors. When we leave home for a few weeks, I do this same thing...for added protection.

Have you checked with your internet provider to be sure you are getting what you're paying for from their standpoint? Maybe there is something wrong with it....I mean, it does happen. I have had to call (years ago) when I had problems just being on the internet to see if our connection was at its best level for what we were paying for it. It was okay; so, I had to ferret out other reasons for the problems.

Sorry to go on and on....sure hope you can figure out what your problems are. Call PC again. Maybe someone else can give you further direction. I do hope you can get a good resolution to your problems.

Char

JanisD Offline
#6 Posted : Saturday, April 13, 2013 6:39:50 PM(UTC)
JanisD

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 8/28/2006(UTC)
Posts: 3,326
United States
Location: U.P. of Mich.

Thanks: 958 times
Was thanked: 1311 time(s) in 1006 post(s)
Originally Posted by: arzuyonak77570094 Go to Quoted Post
I have the same problem and it drives me absolutely crazy! After I cut my first mat, I have to completely close CCR, re-open the application, reload my project, re-connect my machine and go into cut again only to do ONE more mat. Then repeat the whole process all over again. I have 24 invitations I need to finish, I've been working for over 4 hours now and still haven't been able to cut even half the sheets I need. So stupid that it's taking me this long to cut when it took a fraction of the time to actually design all the layers.

I called Cricut support a couple of weeks ago to ask about this and they told me it's because I have a wireless hotspot connection, that my Wifi is "not connecting" which is necessary when cutting. Really?? Such a condescending excuse since it insinuates that I have no concept of how technology works. Cutting shouldn't have anything to do with the internet when my project is already loaded, it recognizes the layer I'm selecting and the machine is connected via USB. And even if it did, my internet browser loads pages just fine so I know there's not a problem with my connection. Not to mention that this isn't a random cuts sometimes/doesn't cut others situation -- it ALWAYS cuts the first time and get stuck on "checking mat status" on the next one.

It's just so disappointing the we INVEST this much money into a product plus all the accessories (mats, tools, cartridges) only to have a sub-standard experience. This isn't the only issue either: the included USB cord usually needs replaced, you can't have the machine connected when opening CCR, copy/paste places images at random, it takes forever to figure out the proper cutting area near the edges of the mat, sometimes not all of the images are cut or aren't cut completely, there are discrepancies in the proportions of images in CCR vs the actual cut, etc. etc..

When I spend $300+ I expect a machine that I can plug in, open an application, and make a few clicks to get a finished project. Not having to do a bunch of little tricks and research to figure out a way around a bunch of random issues.

Since it seems that Provocraft can't offer a simple fix and I'm not about to change my internet provider, I'm also wondering if anyone has a more practical solution?



I don't understand what went on when you talked with Cricut support/PC but here's what I do to start my cricut E & CCR {first it always stays plugged into my computer} I never unplug my Expression.
I turn the cricut on via the power button, then open Cricut Craft Room, then put whatever shpe I want on my mat & cut.
Matter of fact, I turn it on, open the application & cut. Just like you think it should do. I think I would call PC back & ask for another tech. if the first one doesn't help with your problem.

HTH Janis
momomagsd170ee98 Offline
#7 Posted : Sunday, June 02, 2013 4:15:53 PM(UTC)
momomagsd170ee98

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 6/2/2013(UTC)
Posts: 1

Also a newbie, and I can't even make the first cut! I get stuck in "checking mat status". Hubs is a computer software support person in his paying job, and he has not been able to fix this. I'm so disappointed - he bought this for me as a birthday gift, and until today I only used the preloaded cartridges and 1 additional that I purchased. But I really wanted the "Bags, Tags & Boxes" original cartridge which is only available through CCR. I set up an account, purchased the digital cartridge and was so excited to cut a little bag, but the perpetual "checking mat status" has sure dampened my enthusiasm. Any thoughts before I call tech support tomorrow?
megbrownin19efdfd2 Offline
#8 Posted : Wednesday, June 19, 2013 6:20:08 AM(UTC)
megbrownin19efdfd2

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 6/19/2013(UTC)
Posts: 1

Was thanked: 2 time(s) in 1 post(s)
I am at wits end! I have the same problem with the "checking mat status' and it is not all the time. It happens randomly. One minute the program will cut just fine, but other times it doesn't. I have spent over a week trying to finish some cards I'm working on, and have come to a halt in my project due to this problem. I hate to complain, but I have contacted the cricut support so many times, and each time they offer a different solution that DOES NOT WORK. It's obvious there is a flaw in the program, and is really disappointing since so much money has gone into this product. I have purchased so many digital cartridges, I feel let down that they may go to waste. As a paying customer I feel cricut has not delivered. Mad
 2 users thanked megbrownin19efdfd2 for this useful post.
mcaryer6e306185 on 9/22/2013(UTC), donda57dab4c039 on 3/1/2014(UTC)
CricutGena Offline
#9 Posted : Wednesday, June 19, 2013 10:03:22 PM(UTC)
CricutGena

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 3/28/2011(UTC)
Posts: 972

Thanks: 4 times
Was thanked: 997 time(s) in 319 post(s)
Hello all. If you are experiencing issues using Craft Room you can always call customer service at 877-7cricut. We can assist you over the phone. The free cricut craft room program has always had minimum requirements you must meet for the best results. Customer Service can help you determine if you meet those requirements or if there is a different fix for the issues you have.

-Cricut Gena
cin13140c0b8ab Offline
#10 Posted : Monday, July 22, 2013 7:10:09 AM(UTC)
cin13140c0b8ab

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 7/22/2013(UTC)
Posts: 2

Originally Posted by: CricutGena Go to Quoted Post
Hello all. If you are experiencing issues using Craft Room you can always call customer service at 877-7cricut. We can assist you over the phone. The free cricut craft room program has always had minimum requirements you must meet for the best results. Customer Service can help you determine if you meet those requirements or if there is a different fix for the issues you have.

-Cricut Gena


Gena, I'm sure you have good intentions, but from the above posts, I don't think they can help much.



I'm getting the same error. I have an E2 and have been trying to use the little screen on it for several months. After getting frustrated trying to size the items, I finally decided to try CCR. I spent the ENTIRE weekend trying to get it to work. I have 2 kids, one with special needs. I don't have time during the week (when DH is at work) to be on the phone for extended periods of time. I'm about ready to start using my E2 as a door stop.
cin13140c0b8ab Offline
#11 Posted : Monday, July 22, 2013 7:15:40 AM(UTC)
cin13140c0b8ab

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 7/22/2013(UTC)
Posts: 2

Forgot to add that DH is an IT specialist. He knows his hardware and software.

Also, I only got to the stuck 'check mat' screen when I used something already in cricut craft room. Otherwise, it tells me to insert the cartridge. Which was inserted AND re-inserted several times.

The cables have all been checked, the machines have been booted, rebooted and RE-re-booted several times, in various order. Yup, it's a nice expensive door stop.
the57metlady75b2f435 Offline
#12 Posted : Saturday, July 27, 2013 2:42:10 PM(UTC)
the57metlady75b2f435

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 7/27/2013(UTC)
Posts: 1

Angry mine had been working beautifully, then the blade started getting dull so I purchased a new one and installed it. from that exact moment my Cricut Mini decided to fail me.
it keeps telling me to insert the cutting mat and press the load button on the cricut mini.
yes there it is already loaded, and I unloaded it, load it, unloaded it loaded it, feeling a bit like a trained monkey right now. and not very happy.
Something like this should not be this much of a pain in the (insert your own word here)
tried to call support but they are only there on WEEKDAYS from 7-6 mountain time, go figure, those are the hours I have to be at work!!!!!
not too thrilled with my Cricut, and now I am rethinkin the order I just placed to purchase more cartridges and supplies!
anyone have any other ideas??
diane538843af Offline
#13 Posted : Sunday, January 26, 2014 2:36:01 PM(UTC)
diane538843af

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 1/26/2014(UTC)
Posts: 1

Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
I've been reading through all the posts in this discussion and can't find a single viable solution to this problem. I have an Expressions 2 and it worked fine for several months. Now, I too am getting the Checking Mat Status screen that never progresses beyond that point. It happens when I turn on the machine and my computer and try to make my very first cut. I've downloaded drivers, I've moved the USB port the Cricut is plugged into, I've rebooted and restarted the Cricut in every possible combination. Essentially, my Cricut machine is now a $200 paper weight. Is there a solution where you can actually progress past this message and use your Cricut again?
 1 user thanked diane538843af for this useful post.
donda57dab4c039 on 3/1/2014(UTC)
shannon.cleveland118e81a591f Offline
#14 Posted : Saturday, February 01, 2014 4:39:17 AM(UTC)
shannon.cleveland118e81a591f

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 2/1/2014(UTC)
Posts: 1

Cool I had the same issue, several times this morning. My fix was I saved my project, left my paper loaded, closed CCR. Reopened CCR, opened my project and hit cut. Finally Success! I agree with the other posts, I am sure customer service is wonderful but I work Monday - Friday 7 to 6 so a weekend support team would be AWESOME!!!!!!
crystalham.art278d23c9 Offline
#15 Posted : Wednesday, February 05, 2014 12:04:03 AM(UTC)
crystalham.art278d23c9

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 1/21/2014(UTC)
Posts: 5

Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
Originally Posted by: arzuyonak77570094 Go to Quoted Post
I have the same problem and it drives me absolutely crazy! After I cut my first mat, I have to completely close CCR, re-open the application, reload my project, re-connect my machine and go into cut again only to do ONE more mat. Then repeat the whole process all over again. I have 24 invitations I need to finish, I've been working for over 4 hours now and still haven't been able to cut even half the sheets I need. So stupid that it's taking me this long to cut when it took a fraction of the time to actually design all the layers.

I called Cricut support a couple of weeks ago to ask about this and they told me it's because I have a wireless hotspot connection, that my Wifi is "not connecting" which is necessary when cutting. Really?? Such a condescending excuse since it insinuates that I have no concept of how technology works. Cutting shouldn't have anything to do with the internet when my project is already loaded, it recognizes the layer I'm selecting and the machine is connected via USB. And even if it did, my internet browser loads pages just fine so I know there's not a problem with my connection. Not to mention that this isn't a random cuts sometimes/doesn't cut others situation -- it ALWAYS cuts the first time and get stuck on "checking mat status" on the next one.

It's just so disappointing the we INVEST this much money into a product plus all the accessories (mats, tools, cartridges) only to have a sub-standard experience. This isn't the only issue either: the included USB cord usually needs replaced, you can't have the machine connected when opening CCR, copy/paste places images at random, it takes forever to figure out the proper cutting area near the edges of the mat, sometimes not all of the images are cut or aren't cut completely, there are discrepancies in the proportions of images in CCR vs the actual cut, etc. etc..

When I spend $300+ I expect a machine that I can plug in, open an application, and make a few clicks to get a finished project. Not having to do a bunch of little tricks and research to figure out a way around a bunch of random issues.

Since it seems that Provocraft can't offer a simple fix and I'm not about to change my internet provider, I'm also wondering if anyone has a more practical solution?


 1 user thanked crystalham.art278d23c9 for this useful post.
donda57dab4c039 on 3/1/2014(UTC)
crystalham.art278d23c9 Offline
#16 Posted : Wednesday, February 05, 2014 12:08:17 AM(UTC)
crystalham.art278d23c9

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 1/21/2014(UTC)
Posts: 5

Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
I absolutely agree. ...and I am highly tech savvy. Use Adobe Creative Suite - Photoshop/Illustrator. Illustrator is actually the same as CCR in that it is a vector based graphics program. I have issues cutting when my E2 is plugged into my computer, so I can cut fine from the machine with the cartridges, but cannot cut images from my cartridges through CCR. Mine too gets stuck on loading paper,
In fact, it won't recognize my cartridges when I clearly have them inserted . Have never been able to link my cartridges in fact. I'm extra-ordinarily disappointed in this machine and the software.
crystalham.art278d23c9 Offline
#17 Posted : Wednesday, February 05, 2014 12:14:37 AM(UTC)
crystalham.art278d23c9

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 1/21/2014(UTC)
Posts: 5

Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
Originally Posted by: diane538843af Go to Quoted Post
I've been reading through all the posts in this discussion and can't find a single viable solution to this problem. I have an Expressions 2 and it worked fine for several months. Now, I too am getting the Checking Mat Status screen that never progresses beyond that point. It happens when I turn on the machine and my computer and try to make my very first cut. I've downloaded drivers, I've moved the USB port the Cricut is plugged into, I've rebooted and restarted the Cricut in every possible combination. Essentially, my Cricut machine is now a $200 paper weight. Is there a solution where you can actually progress past this message and use your Cricut again?


Can you cut from the E2 LCD screen commands? You have to unlink the usb from your computer. That's the problem I am having suddenly. I wonder if we need to uninstall and re-install Cricut Craftroom? I have a Mac and tried to download the app again and my computer told me the new version can't be installed because the file is corrupted, and told me to eject the corrupted disk. LOL Go Figure!
crystalham.art278d23c9 Offline
#18 Posted : Wednesday, February 05, 2014 12:17:42 AM(UTC)
crystalham.art278d23c9

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 1/21/2014(UTC)
Posts: 5

Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
Also, I CAN HOWEVER, cut things in the CCR that are native to my CCR account, like the default fonts and the freebies. I assume because it doesn't have to cross-reference and checks with the software on my machine.
donda57dab4c039 Offline
#19 Posted : Saturday, March 01, 2014 8:56:15 AM(UTC)
donda57dab4c039

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 2/28/2014(UTC)
Posts: 1

Thanks: 3 times
Ditto Crying. I need to cut 100 end caps from Plantin Schoolbook and it's too confusing using the E2 by itself. Thought it would be easier using the Craft Room but - no matter what I do, after cutting 2 (all I can do one one page), it locks up with the "loading mat" status. I have to shut it all down, turn off the E2 and start over. Very frustrating and not sure why Cricut doesn't have a solution. Obviously it's not the operators! My regular Cricut is too small - I need to use 6.5" paper at a minimum. Doing this for a retirement party and it may be impossible to finish! I am on a MAC, have upgraded to most current version of CCR and it has nothing to do with the Wi-Fi. If anyone EVER finds a way to bypass this good input/bad output/result-please post ASAP!
Users browsing this topic
Guest
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

Powered by YAF | YAF © 2003-2014, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 1.860 seconds.
nebo-cricut-04