Flag
  • Sign In
  • 0 items
  • Search
Welcome Guest! Please login to enable all features.

Notification

Icon
Error

cartobsessed Offline
#1 Posted : Monday, February 17, 2014 10:56:30 PM(UTC)
cartobsessed

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 2/14/2010(UTC)
Posts: 5

Thanks: 2 times
Has anyone experience having their gypsy stuck while updating? I tried to use gypsy sync to CCR because I have ordered the explore and I want all my carts that are in my gypsy to be available in my design space when I get my explore . I was prompted to do an update when I tried to sync my gypsy to CCR. I have not used my gypsy for a while but it does work well the last time I used it. I was afraid to do any updates because I don't want it being messed up. I guess I just did. As I was updating at first it was going on well, then it was stuck at 47% updating and it was not going anywhere after that. So I stopped the update but my gypsy can't be turned off. Please help. Since it's late, I will just let the battery die and see if I can power it on tomorrow while plugged in and update my gypsy.
MaryStillman Offline
#2 Posted : Tuesday, February 18, 2014 6:43:15 PM(UTC)
MaryStillman

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 1/30/2011(UTC)
Posts: 2,085

Thanks: 1184 times
Was thanked: 1249 time(s) in 792 post(s)
Originally Posted by: cartobsessed Go to Quoted Post
Has anyone experience having their gypsy stuck while updating? I tried to use gypsy sync to CCR because I have ordered the explore and I want all my carts that are in my gypsy to be available in my design space when I get my explore . I was prompted to do an update when I tried to sync my gypsy to CCR. I have not used my gypsy for a while but it does work well the last time I used it. I was afraid to do any updates because I don't want it being messed up. I guess I just did. As I was updating at first it was going on well, then it was stuck at 47% updating and it was not going anywhere after that. So I stopped the update but my gypsy can't be turned off. Please help. Since it's late, I will just let the battery die and see if I can power it on tomorrow while plugged in and update my gypsy.


I always plug my gypsy into an electric outlet when I update. I guess it helps to update frequently because the updates are not so huge because of having to install all the current updates. When I don't update monthly, it does take a bit of time to update.

Mary
 2 users thanked MaryStillman for this useful post.
cartobsessed on 2/18/2014(UTC), KitKucera on 3/22/2014(UTC)
SMC24 Offline
#3 Posted : Tuesday, February 18, 2014 9:39:07 PM(UTC)
SMC24

Rank: Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 9/17/2010(UTC)
Posts: 27

Was thanked: 4 time(s) in 4 post(s)
I have the gypsy and have had the same problem because I have not used it in a very long time. I also want to be able to use all of the carts that are currently on the gypsy with my explore which should arrive very soon!!
QUESTION: If I put my cartridges in the explore to upload to the new software, will they be good to use in my imagine if I wish? Also does anyone know how or if the imagine carts will work with the explore? Thank you!
MerleKudla Offline
#4 Posted : Tuesday, February 18, 2014 10:08:04 PM(UTC)
MerleKudla

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 12/28/2006(UTC)
Posts: 53

Was thanked: 30 time(s) in 17 post(s)
This happened to me as well. I have not used my Gypsy in a very long time and I wanted t link all my carts to CCR. While doing this I had to restart several times and then it just seemed to stop. I did have my plugged in to the wall. I finally just unplugged from machine and wall and turned it off. I waited a few minutes and turned and got a security breach error and could do nothing. SO I followed the steps on the help page and, like magic, all was well! I redid the Sync and it all worked. I had some other carts to link to gypsy so I did that the next day and did the Sync again and it all worked. I used the instructions at this link:

http://www.cricut.com/home/support/gypsy-linking

Now I don't know if you can do the steps without the error message, but I would think so, I think it is just a restore. You don't lose carts, just projects, but I had none.

I used the instructions under the security breach error questions. Maybe you would have to answer the questions differently if you did see that error message. (I never read the questions, I just answered like they told me...yes..I am a sheep!).

I hope this helps.
 2 users thanked MerleKudla for this useful post.
cartobsessed on 2/19/2014(UTC), KitKucera on 3/22/2014(UTC)
KitKucera Offline
#5 Posted : Saturday, March 22, 2014 6:42:43 AM(UTC)
KitKucera

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 6/13/2009(UTC)
Posts: 7

Thanks: 4 times
I also had the same problem so I went to this site and thankfully you all had the answers! I had just gotten to the part of updating……don't turn me off which lasted into the night. I went back and did turn it off, plugged it in and started over. Sometime maybe an hour later it was done. Thanks so much. I learn so much from the forum.
Users browsing this topic
Guest
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

Powered by YAF | YAF © 2003-2014, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.761 seconds.
nebo-cricut-02