Flag
  • Sign In
  • 0 items
  • Search
Welcome Guest! Please login to enable all features.

Notification

Icon
Error

tmboring97644ee0 Offline
#1 Posted : Saturday, November 17, 2012 8:15:49 AM(UTC)
tmboring97644ee0

Groups: Registered

Does anyone know of a cartridge, or how to make a stencil using the negative? I know you would need an "open" letter so the centers stay in on letters like, a,e,o,p...etc, I am very new to the cricut, but already love it! Just need stencils for my wood craft projects, for sayings. Any help would be great! Thanks, Teri BigGrin
joyfullycrafting Offline
#2 Posted : Saturday, November 17, 2012 8:29:41 AM(UTC)
joyfullycrafting

United States

Was thanked: 1488 time(s) in 1185 post(s)
I used contact paper for my stencil material. And yes, you use the negative. If there is an "inside" of a letter, just stick it where it needs to be.

It the same concept as glass etching.

So that being said, any cartridge you own can be used as a stencil.

Rather than a stencil, you could also cut vinyl letters and words and stick them on your projects! Vinyl is SO EASY to cut. Little fine details cut wonderfully.
 2 users thanked joyfullycrafting for this useful post.
CricketCMV on 11/17/2012(UTC), tmboring97644ee0 on 11/17/2012(UTC)
GayleWheaton1 Offline
#3 Posted : Sunday, November 18, 2012 3:53:39 PM(UTC)
GayleWheaton1

United States

Was thanked: 65 time(s) in 41 post(s)
BigGrin Welcome to Cricut Fun!!
I'm not sure if I understand completely - you can use vinyl like suggested above - but there is another way to make a paper stencil, too (other than purchasing the Stencil cart!)....
The Plantin Schoolbook cart has a Creative Feature called 'End Caps' - it's designed to make tags using negative letters. It will normally cut with a line above & below the letter [so that the tag cuts out], but if you have CCR, Gypsy, or Design Studio, you hide (i.e. not cut) the lines and therefore get just the letters.