Flag
  • Sign In
  • 0 items
  • Search
Welcome Guest! Please login to enable all features.

Notification

Icon
Error

7 Pages123>»
14cross Offline
#1 Posted : Thursday, November 04, 2010 9:43:16 AM(UTC)
14cross

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Cricut Community Moderator, Registered
Joined: 10/28/2009(UTC)
Posts: 1,048

Thanks: 22 times
Was thanked: 798 time(s) in 205 post(s)
Attached are updated instructions on doing a System Restore of your Imagine machine.

A System Restore should be done when a content update or firmware update will not successfully load. Try doing the update at least two times before doing a System Restore.

Chris
Provo Craft

Edited by user Tuesday, November 16, 2010 10:38:03 AM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

File Attachment(s):
System Restore.doc (926kb) downloaded 5,200 time(s).
 23 users thanked 14cross for this useful post.
Makeupgirl217 on 11/4/2010(UTC), Janice on 11/4/2010(UTC), sandra tunstall on 11/4/2010(UTC), flyoes on 11/4/2010(UTC), Tupperstamper on 11/4/2010(UTC), AntoniettaLunn on 11/16/2010(UTC), Mercedez62 on 11/17/2010(UTC), CarolS on 11/17/2010(UTC), O2BMe on 11/18/2010(UTC), STEPH2004 on 11/19/2010(UTC), YvonneLindsey on 11/20/2010(UTC), bird on 11/20/2010(UTC), andrenaholmes on 11/25/2010(UTC), luv2scrap on 12/30/2010(UTC), LoriMcBurney on 12/31/2010(UTC), GayleBodd on 1/10/2011(UTC), ~Natalie~ on 1/11/2011(UTC), ErinBassett on 1/17/2011(UTC), Maile Lei on 2/24/2011(UTC), garagesaler on 6/26/2011(UTC), Canadiangirl77 on 8/6/2011(UTC), mhjudge67 on 1/11/2012(UTC), craftingginski on 6/5/2012(UTC)
Makeupgirl217 Offline
#2 Posted : Thursday, November 04, 2010 9:46:17 AM(UTC)
Makeupgirl217

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 9/30/2009(UTC)
Posts: 2,741
Location: Kansas

Thanks: 2019 times
Was thanked: 1582 time(s) in 813 post(s)
Thanks Chris!
TheBugBytes Offline
#3 Posted : Thursday, November 04, 2010 10:09:41 AM(UTC)
TheBugBytes

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 3/18/2009(UTC)
Posts: 4,242
Location: Katy, Texas

Thanks: 182 times
Was thanked: 1539 time(s) in 876 post(s)
Thanks Chris
Shadow Offline
#4 Posted : Thursday, November 04, 2010 10:31:00 AM(UTC)
Shadow

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 7/28/2008(UTC)
Posts: 1,057
United Kingdom
Location: South Yorkshire, UK

Thanks: 579 times
Was thanked: 276 time(s) in 206 post(s)
Thanks Chris. Much appreciated.

Pauline
Calmom Offline
#5 Posted : Thursday, November 04, 2010 10:53:08 AM(UTC)
Calmom

Rank: Advanced Member

Medals: Cricut Circle Member: Member of the Cricut Circle

Groups: Registered, Circle Member
Joined: 6/26/2008(UTC)
Posts: 3,097
Location: San Diego

Thanks: 1422 times
Was thanked: 2095 time(s) in 1069 post(s)
I did the download last night and had the right version, when I was done. I went to do the restore per your detailed instruction, Chris, and it never got through even a 1/16th of an inch, on the progress bar, of page 1, after 3 hrs, so I turned it off. I went to try the restore again this morning and when I click on the Cricutsync it just keeps saying "connecting to device and just sits there because obviously my Imagine is no longer connected.

My computer is also extremely slow, so now I'm worried that I not only did not get the restore done but I must of screwed up my computer.

OMG, I'm ready to cry, somebody please help!!
14cross Offline
#6 Posted : Thursday, November 04, 2010 10:57:46 AM(UTC)
14cross

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Cricut Community Moderator, Registered
Joined: 10/28/2009(UTC)
Posts: 1,048

Thanks: 22 times
Was thanked: 798 time(s) in 205 post(s)
Calmom wrote:
I did the download last night and had the right version, when I was done. I went to do the restore per your detailed instruction, Chris, and it never got through even a 1/16th of an inch, on the progress bar, of page 1, after 3 hrs, so I turned it off. I went to try the restore again this morning and when I click on the Cricutsync it just keeps saying "connecting to device and just sits there because obviously my Imagine is no longer connected.

My computer is also extremely slow, so now I'm worried that I not only did not get the restore done but I must of screwed up my computer.

OMG, I'm ready to cry, somebody please help!!


No, you didn't screw up your computer. What version of the Cricut Sync software do you have? What version of the Imagine firmware do you have?

Try running the restore over again. I posted new instructions this morning that show more screen shots and go into a little more detail. Maybe they will help.

Chris
Provo Craft
Calmom Offline
#7 Posted : Thursday, November 04, 2010 1:06:49 PM(UTC)
Calmom

Rank: Advanced Member

Medals: Cricut Circle Member: Member of the Cricut Circle

Groups: Registered, Circle Member
Joined: 6/26/2008(UTC)
Posts: 3,097
Location: San Diego

Thanks: 1422 times
Was thanked: 2095 time(s) in 1069 post(s)
14cross wrote:
No, you didn't screw up your computer. What version of the Cricut Sync software do you have? What version of the Imagine firmware do you have?

Try running the restore over again. I posted new instructions this morning that show more screen shots and go into a little more detail. Maybe they will help.

Chris
Provo Craft


Your new instructions were critical in having a successful restore, it was just perfect instructions. Thank you, Thank you. Now I haven't actually tried printing and cutting something yet, but I just wanted you to know that I had a successful restore and update. One factor that I found that I think was also helpful, was after I downloaded the update to my computer, I restarted my computer, before connecting my Imagine, as well. I'm not sure if this helped but it worked for me.

I now show:

Version: 2.0.3.0
Firmware: 0096
Content: 0013
Serial #: ###### (it showed actual #'s, just didn't want to post them)

Thank you again Chris, now I'm off to print and cut and anticipate, all will go well.
MaryScraps Offline
#8 Posted : Thursday, November 04, 2010 1:23:03 PM(UTC)
MaryScraps

Rank: Advanced Member

Medals: Cricut Circle Member: Member of the Cricut Circle

Groups: Registered, Circle Member
Joined: 11/25/2008(UTC)
Posts: 7,450
United States

Thanks: 9192 times
Was thanked: 6866 time(s) in 2791 post(s)
Thanks Chris!
sandra tunstall Offline
#9 Posted : Thursday, November 04, 2010 4:04:51 PM(UTC)
sandra tunstall

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 2/12/2009(UTC)
Posts: 99
Location: rockingham n.c.

Thanks: 8 times
Was thanked: 17 time(s) in 8 post(s)
14cross wrote:
Attached are updated instructions on doing a System Restore of your Imagine machine.

A System Restore should be done when a content update or firmware update will not successfully load. Try doing the update at least two times before doing a System Restore.

Chris
Provo Craft

thank you Chris i finally got it updated i had to do the system restore
GracefulGrammar Offline
#10 Posted : Thursday, November 04, 2010 6:02:09 PM(UTC)
GracefulGrammar

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 1/17/2008(UTC)
Posts: 2,276

Thanks: 1036 times
Was thanked: 1818 time(s) in 865 post(s)
14cross wrote:
Attached are updated instructions on doing a System Restore of your Imagine machine.

A System Restore should be done when a content update or firmware update will not successfully load. Try doing the update at least two times before doing a System Restore.

Chris
Provo Craft



Admin~ Please make this a sticky??

TIA :-)
katherineretired Offline
#11 Posted : Saturday, November 20, 2010 10:35:08 AM(UTC)
katherineretired

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 5/26/2010(UTC)
Posts: 55

Thanks: 14 times
Was thanked: 2 time(s) in 2 post(s)
CircutSync pops a box that says Imagine is up to date. The Sync is 2.0.3.0. It says Imagine firmware version 0096 Cricut Imagine says version 1.01 I am guessing my computer says it is up to date but the Imagine isn't. I have shut down both computer and did start up . shut down Imagine and restarted. I cut print and cut fine with the Imagine, but it will not show the updated version and will not connect with the Gypsy. Can anyone on please advise me. Thank you in advance.
Katherine
14cross Offline
#12 Posted : Sunday, November 21, 2010 1:02:42 PM(UTC)
14cross

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Cricut Community Moderator, Registered
Joined: 10/28/2009(UTC)
Posts: 1,048

Thanks: 22 times
Was thanked: 798 time(s) in 205 post(s)
katherineretired wrote:
CircutSync pops a box that says Imagine is up to date. The Sync is 2.0.3.0. It says Imagine firmware version 0096 Cricut Imagine says version 1.01 I am guessing my computer says it is up to date but the Imagine isn't. I have shut down both computer and did start up . shut down Imagine and restarted. I cut print and cut fine with the Imagine, but it will not show the updated version and will not connect with the Gypsy. Can anyone on please advise me. Thank you in advance.
Katherine


Can you tell me the complete version number for your Imagine? Click on the About button and tell me all of the numbers in the parenthesis? Why do you think it is not up to date?

Chris
Provo Craft
katherineretired Offline
#13 Posted : Sunday, November 21, 2010 2:25:30 PM(UTC)
katherineretired

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 5/26/2010(UTC)
Posts: 55

Thanks: 14 times
Was thanked: 2 time(s) in 2 post(s)
The Imagine is Version 1.01. When I click on the sync it tells me it is up to date. The versions are in my post ... I can't see it right now but it is what we should have. Thank you for replying.
Katherine
katherineretired Offline
#14 Posted : Monday, November 22, 2010 7:28:32 AM(UTC)
katherineretired

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 5/26/2010(UTC)
Posts: 55

Thanks: 14 times
Was thanked: 2 time(s) in 2 post(s)
Sorry here it is Chris... (0096:0014:0239:202A
Version 1.01
14cross Offline
#15 Posted : Monday, November 22, 2010 8:28:14 AM(UTC)
14cross

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Cricut Community Moderator, Registered
Joined: 10/28/2009(UTC)
Posts: 1,048

Thanks: 22 times
Was thanked: 798 time(s) in 205 post(s)
katherineretired wrote:
Sorry here it is Chris... (0096:0014:0239:202A
Version 1.01


You are completely up to date on the Imagine. Go try your machine and tell me what problems you are having.

Chris
Provo Craft
katherineretired Offline
#16 Posted : Monday, November 22, 2010 9:03:50 AM(UTC)
katherineretired

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 5/26/2010(UTC)
Posts: 55

Thanks: 14 times
Was thanked: 2 time(s) in 2 post(s)
The imagine works fine alone ... I cannot use my gypsy with it. I have plugged the gypsy into the back of the Imagine and it will not recognize it. I tried the short cord for cartridge load. That doesn't fit. This is I am sure something I am over looking but I am at a stand still. Chris thank you very much for being here and ans. all of these questions. It is really appreciated.
14cross Offline
#17 Posted : Monday, November 22, 2010 9:17:35 AM(UTC)
14cross

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Cricut Community Moderator, Registered
Joined: 10/28/2009(UTC)
Posts: 1,048

Thanks: 22 times
Was thanked: 798 time(s) in 205 post(s)
katherineretired wrote:
The imagine works fine alone ... I cannot use my gypsy with it. I have plugged the gypsy into the back of the Imagine and it will not recognize it. I tried the short cord for cartridge load. That doesn't fit. This is I am sure something I am over looking but I am at a stand still. Chris thank you very much for being here and ans. all of these questions. It is really appreciated.


What version do you have on your Gypsy? It should be 1.4 (0206:0207). The cable you will use is the same cable you use to hook your gypsy to your Imagine. The USB port on the back of the Imagine is the same as that on the Expression.

Make a simple project on your Gypsy, press the cut icon, Press the Insert mat icon, Insert the mat into your Imagine where it says "Insert Mat Here," Press the Go button on your Gypsy. It should take the mat in and cut your project. Let me know if that works.

Chris
Provo Craft
katherineretired Offline
#18 Posted : Monday, November 22, 2010 9:34:37 AM(UTC)
katherineretired

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 5/26/2010(UTC)
Posts: 55

Thanks: 14 times
Was thanked: 2 time(s) in 2 post(s)
I don't know if anyone told you today how wonderful you are.......let me be the first. How simple. It is cutting as I type. Thank you so very much Chris. Enjoy your holiday you certainly have earned it.
Katherine.................
14cross Offline
#19 Posted : Monday, November 22, 2010 9:35:31 AM(UTC)
14cross

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Cricut Community Moderator, Registered
Joined: 10/28/2009(UTC)
Posts: 1,048

Thanks: 22 times
Was thanked: 798 time(s) in 205 post(s)
katherineretired wrote:
I don't know if anyone told you today how wonderful you are.......let me be the first. How simple. It is cutting as I type. Thank you so very much Chris. Enjoy your holiday you certainly have earned it.
Katherine.................


Great to hear! Have fun!

Chris
Provo Craft
ScrapCrazyyyy! Offline
#20 Posted : Wednesday, November 24, 2010 3:31:29 PM(UTC)
ScrapCrazyyyy!

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 11/25/2007(UTC)
Posts: 505
Location: The South - War Eagle!

Thanks: 50 times
Was thanked: 116 time(s) in 111 post(s)
I'm trying to do this update and the firmware is getting stuck - first it was stuck at 0%, the next time it froze at 4% and now it is frozen at 10%. Any advice? I am running Vista.

Thanks!!!
DianneJenkins Offline
#21 Posted : Thursday, November 25, 2010 2:46:46 PM(UTC)
DianneJenkins

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 2/5/2007(UTC)
Posts: 94
Location: The Sunshine State

Thanks: 60 times
Was thanked: 100 time(s) in 32 post(s)
I'm having problems with my "I" since I did the recent update. Here are the versions of my machines:

"I" is version 1.01; 0096:0014:0239:202A
Gypsy Version 1.4; 0206:0207
Crciut Sync 2.0.3.5

Used my iMac for the updates using Cricut Sync.

My I does okay on its own - however, now that I am inserting a regular Cricut cartridge into it (with or without an Imagine colors cartridge), it will take the design and then when I hit cut only, it pulls the paper in, says "cutting" and when the blade housing gets about half-way across the page, the screen goes back to the menu screen.

I had a similar problem when I connected my G for the first time - it kept reverting to the menu screen.....so finally I gave up and was trying to use the actual cartridges.

Here's another question - when I insert a regular Cricut cartridge, the I doesn't seem to want to recognize it - I have to re-insert it every time.

Any suggestions or should I try a restore? I hate to go through that - it took me several tries just to get the I updated.....

ARGHH!

Dianne
ScrapCrazyyyy! Offline
#22 Posted : Sunday, November 28, 2010 9:45:12 PM(UTC)
ScrapCrazyyyy!

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 11/25/2007(UTC)
Posts: 505
Location: The South - War Eagle!

Thanks: 50 times
Was thanked: 116 time(s) in 111 post(s)
I have followed these instructions but still no luck.

Imagine is at version 1.0 (0066:0008:0239). I get to the Sync step "send recovery data" step 1 (of 3), it runs 1-5 and hangs...I turned off my virus software...any ideas on what else to do?

This is sooooo frustrating!!! Mad
14cross Offline
#23 Posted : Monday, November 29, 2010 10:10:30 AM(UTC)
14cross

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Cricut Community Moderator, Registered
Joined: 10/28/2009(UTC)
Posts: 1,048

Thanks: 22 times
Was thanked: 798 time(s) in 205 post(s)
DianneJenkins wrote:
I'm having problems with my "I" since I did the recent update. Here are the versions of my machines:

"I" is version 1.01; 0096:0014:0239:202A
Gypsy Version 1.4; 0206:0207
Crciut Sync 2.0.3.5

Used my iMac for the updates using Cricut Sync.


You have all of the latest updates. That is good!

DianneJenkins wrote:
My I does okay on its own - however, now that I am inserting a regular Cricut cartridge into it (with or without an Imagine colors cartridge), it will take the design and then when I hit cut only, it pulls the paper in, says "cutting" and when the blade housing gets about half-way across the page, the screen goes back to the menu screen.


How often does it do this? Every time or just occassionally?

DianneJenkins wrote:
Here's another question - when I insert a regular Cricut cartridge, the I doesn't seem to want to recognize it - I have to re-insert it every time.

Any suggestions or should I try a restore? I hate to go through that - it took me several tries just to get the I updated.....


You don't need to update. Sometimes cartridges don't get read initially. I see that from time to time. Did you have this problem before doing the latest update?

Chris
Provo Craft
14cross Offline
#24 Posted : Monday, November 29, 2010 10:12:56 AM(UTC)
14cross

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Cricut Community Moderator, Registered
Joined: 10/28/2009(UTC)
Posts: 1,048

Thanks: 22 times
Was thanked: 798 time(s) in 205 post(s)
ScrapCrazyyyy! wrote:
I have followed these instructions but still no luck.

Imagine is at version 1.0 (0066:0008:0239). I get to the Sync step "send recovery data" step 1 (of 3), it runs 1-5 and hangs...I turned off my virus software...any ideas on what else to do?

This is sooooo frustrating!!! Mad


Make sure you are reading the Cricut Sync screen. It will tell you to restart your Imagine a couple of times. If you don't then it will just hang there until your restart the Imagine. Also, if you have waited more than half an hour and nothing has happened then restart the Imagine even though the scren may not be telling you to do so. That will likely get things going again.

Chris
Provo Craft
thunderbirdlindy Offline
#25 Posted : Monday, November 29, 2010 10:36:41 AM(UTC)
thunderbirdlindy

Rank: Advanced Member

Medals: Cricut Circle Member: Member of the Cricut Circle

Groups: Registered, Circle Member
Joined: 2/27/2008(UTC)
Posts: 2,211
Location: Indiana

Thanks: 2160 times
Was thanked: 957 time(s) in 537 post(s)
Thanks Chris
ScrapCrazyyyy! Offline
#26 Posted : Monday, November 29, 2010 6:26:32 PM(UTC)
ScrapCrazyyyy!

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 11/25/2007(UTC)
Posts: 505
Location: The South - War Eagle!

Thanks: 50 times
Was thanked: 116 time(s) in 111 post(s)
14cross wrote:
Make sure you are reading the Cricut Sync screen. It will tell you to restart your Imagine a couple of times. If you don't then it will just hang there until your restart the Imagine. Also, if you have waited more than half an hour and nothing has happened then restart the Imagine even though the scren may not be telling you to do so. That will likely get things going again.

Chris
Provo Craft


Thanks Chris, I did this last night and tonight. When trying to "Send Recovery Data", it gets stuck on Step 1 of 3...so I waited and nothing happened. I turned off the Imagine, and the Sync told me to please restart or reconnect your Imagine and when I restart the Imagine, nothing changes on Sync...it is still telling me to restart or reconnect my Imagine. I tried restarting the Imagine in recovery mode and in normal mode in respective order.

I added a pic to my blog so you can see where it stops updating.

I'm off to restart again...any other suggestions?

Thanks!!!

Edited by user Monday, November 29, 2010 7:17:03 PM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

ScrapCrazyyyy! Offline
#27 Posted : Tuesday, November 30, 2010 10:49:15 AM(UTC)
ScrapCrazyyyy!

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 11/25/2007(UTC)
Posts: 505
Location: The South - War Eagle!

Thanks: 50 times
Was thanked: 116 time(s) in 111 post(s)
Chris,

I received your message but it says you are not accepting private messages. How do I respond to you?

Thanks!
CarolClifford Offline
#28 Posted : Monday, December 20, 2010 7:29:04 PM(UTC)
CarolClifford

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 12/19/2010(UTC)
Posts: 94

Thanks: 46 times
Was thanked: 12 time(s) in 11 post(s)
This is in regards to the DISCONNECT and RECONNECT the device part of the update for using the original cartridges in the Imagine machine such as the Paper Lace cartridge.

Everything went beautifully until I got to that part. I kept unplugging and replugging the internet cable over and over, but it kept saying the same thing, to disconnect and reconnect the device.

Well, I closed everything out and got the sync box which told me I should do a restore.

I was just about to do a restore and decided to try to unplug the electrical plug before going through all that trouble.

IT WORKED! BigGrin

All is well with the world again. I wanted to put this here for someone else in case it happens to them.

I hope I explained it well enough.

Edited by user Monday, December 20, 2010 7:30:08 PM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

CarolClifford Offline
#29 Posted : Tuesday, December 21, 2010 2:42:13 PM(UTC)
CarolClifford

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 12/19/2010(UTC)
Posts: 94

Thanks: 46 times
Was thanked: 12 time(s) in 11 post(s)
I wanted to clarify something. My imagine had "CONNECTED" on it (along with a picture of the imagine and a cable connected to itself) and wouldn't go to anything else at the time I unplugged it from the electricity. That is the only time I would advise doing it. At other times, you may ruin your machine if you turn the power off or unplug it. I had tried turning the Imagine off and on many times, I kept unplugging the internet cable over and over but once I unplugged the Imagine from the power supply, that is when the update finished.

Thanks! (I wouldn't want any one to ruin their Imagine)!!
14cross Offline
#30 Posted : Tuesday, December 21, 2010 4:22:38 PM(UTC)
14cross

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Cricut Community Moderator, Registered
Joined: 10/28/2009(UTC)
Posts: 1,048

Thanks: 22 times
Was thanked: 798 time(s) in 205 post(s)
CarolClifford wrote:
I wanted to clarify something. My imagine had "CONNECTED" on it (along with a picture of the imagine and a cable connected to itself) and wouldn't go to anything else at the time I unplugged it from the electricity. That is the only time I would advise doing it. At other times, you may ruin your machine if you turn the power off or unplug it. I had tried turning the Imagine off and on many times, I kept unplugging the internet cable over and over but once I unplugged the Imagine from the power supply, that is when the update finished.

Thanks! (I wouldn't want any one to ruin their Imagine)!!


One other point, I think the message says to try disconnecting the cable or restarting your Imagine. You did the latter by unplugging it. The easier (and possibly better) way is to just use the power on/off button on the Imagine.

Chris
Provo Craft
Users browsing this topic
Guest (2)
7 Pages123>»
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

Powered by YAF | YAF © 2003-2014, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 2.997 seconds.
nebo-cricut-01