Flag
  • Sign In
  • 0 items
  • Search
Welcome Guest! Please login to enable all features.

Notification

Icon
Error

GracefulGrammar Offline
#1 Posted : Tuesday, October 30, 2012 8:35:02 AM(UTC)
GracefulGrammar

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 1/17/2008(UTC)
Posts: 2,472

Thanks: 1116 times
Was thanked: 2044 time(s) in 993 post(s)
Window 8 is out.......... and I will be getting a new computer....... How does Windows 8 work with Provo Craft software and cutters? The software has been available for months for programmers to code to it, so software companies can be up and running with Windows 8 as soon as people purchase new computers.

Has anyone tried it?

Nathan, would you please get this info from your IT/programming dept. I have checked all my other companies for Windows 8 compatibility; and, they all have statements and help files on their websites pertaining to Win8. I can't find anything like that on PC's website. Please post a link.

TIA

Edited by user Tuesday, October 30, 2012 9:41:57 AM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

 1 user thanked GracefulGrammar for this useful post.
papercrazedcrafter on 10/31/2012(UTC)
CricutGena Offline
#2 Posted : Tuesday, October 30, 2012 8:41:55 AM(UTC)
CricutGena

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 3/28/2011(UTC)
Posts: 972

Thanks: 4 times
Was thanked: 999 time(s) in 320 post(s)
Hello GracefulGrammar-
The Cricut products and programs work with Window 8. Here are some directions to follow when installing our programs with Windows 8:
Using the Cricut Craft Room® design software on Windows® 8
(1) Download and install the software from www.cricut.com/craftroom
(2) When installation is complete, a Cricut Craft Room® icon should appear on your desktop.
a. If Cricut Craft Room® automatically opened after installation, please close it.
(3) Right click on the icon and click “Properties” to open the Properties window.
(4) Click to view the “Compatibility” tab.
(5) Within the “Compatibility” tab, check the box next to ‘Run this program in compatibility mode for:”. Make sure the drop down menu just below shows “Windows 7”.
(6) Click OK

I hope this answers your question.
-PCGena
 1 user thanked CricutGena for this useful post.
Mickey B on 10/30/2012(UTC)
LindainWA Offline
#3 Posted : Tuesday, October 30, 2012 8:43:31 AM(UTC)
LindainWA

Rank: Advanced Member

Medals: Cricut Circle Member: Member of the Cricut Circle

Groups: Registered, Circle Member
Joined: 6/3/2006(UTC)
Posts: 2,216
United States
Location: Bothell, WA

Thanks: 185 times
Was thanked: 943 time(s) in 553 post(s)
I have win8 and would like to know if I still need to disable my firewalls to download the sync program. I tried it both ways yesterday and got the same brigeing error and then read that there was a problem on PC's end.
GracefulGrammar Offline
#4 Posted : Tuesday, October 30, 2012 8:54:56 AM(UTC)
GracefulGrammar

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 1/17/2008(UTC)
Posts: 2,472

Thanks: 1116 times
Was thanked: 2044 time(s) in 993 post(s)
Originally Posted by: PCGena Go to Quoted Post
Hello GracefulGrammar-
The Cricut products and programs work with Window 8. Here are some directions to follow when installing our programs with Windows 8:
Using the Cricut Craft Room® design software on Windows® 8
(1) Download and install the software from www.cricut.com/craftroom
(2) When installation is complete, a Cricut Craft Room® icon should appear on your desktop.
a. If Cricut Craft Room® automatically opened after installation, please close it.
(3) Right click on the icon and click “Properties” to open the Properties window.
(4) Click to view the “Compatibility” tab.
(5) Within the “Compatibility” tab, check the box next to ‘Run this program in compatibility mode for:”. Make sure the drop down menu just below shows “Windows 7”.
(6) Click OK

I hope this answers your question.
-PCGena


Thank you so much for the quick response!!!

mickyminx Offline
#5 Posted : Tuesday, October 30, 2012 10:27:10 AM(UTC)
mickyminx

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 7/11/2012(UTC)
Posts: 30
United Kingdom

Thanks: 3 times
Was thanked: 13 time(s) in 7 post(s)
Originally Posted by: PCGena Go to Quoted Post
Hello GracefulGrammar-
The Cricut products and programs work with Window 8. Here are some directions to follow when installing our programs with Windows 8:
Using the Cricut Craft Room® design software on Windows® 8
(1) Download and install the software from www.cricut.com/craftroom
(2) When installation is complete, a Cricut Craft Room® icon should appear on your desktop.
a. If Cricut Craft Room® automatically opened after installation, please close it.
(3) Right click on the icon and click “Properties” to open the Properties window.
(4) Click to view the “Compatibility” tab.
(5) Within the “Compatibility” tab, check the box next to ‘Run this program in compatibility mode for:”. Make sure the drop down menu just below shows “Windows 7”.
(6) Click OK

I hope this answers your question.
-PCGena


Hi

I followed the instructions and it still does not work, I also get this error with sync.
File Attachment(s):
sync error.png (1,124kb) downloaded 4 time(s).
mickyminx attached the following image(s):
ccr on windows 8.png
Sherri Kay Offline
#6 Posted : Tuesday, October 30, 2012 2:41:47 PM(UTC)
Sherri Kay

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 1/9/2010(UTC)
Posts: 6,875
United States
Location: Minnesota

Thanks: 451 times
Was thanked: 2440 time(s) in 2187 post(s)
Someone earlier this morning posted something about not having the drivers for Windows 8 or something like that. I know they couldn't get CCR to work with their new computer with Windows 8 on it and was told by PC that they don't have the drivers. Don't quote me on this, I just know it had something to do with the drivers. Unsure
 1 user thanked Sherri Kay for this useful post.
GracefulGrammar on 11/1/2012(UTC)
Mickey B Offline
#7 Posted : Tuesday, October 30, 2012 2:42:55 PM(UTC)
Mickey B

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 5/8/2006(UTC)
Posts: 213
United States
Location: Fairfield, CA

Thanks: 40 times
Was thanked: 37 time(s) in 34 post(s)
PCGena, thanks for the instructions. My Windows 8 PC is now running CCR and Cricut Sync.BigGrin
LindainWA Offline
#8 Posted : Tuesday, October 30, 2012 4:27:18 PM(UTC)
LindainWA

Rank: Advanced Member

Medals: Cricut Circle Member: Member of the Cricut Circle

Groups: Registered, Circle Member
Joined: 6/3/2006(UTC)
Posts: 2,216
United States
Location: Bothell, WA

Thanks: 185 times
Was thanked: 943 time(s) in 553 post(s)
I did as you said about the compatibility but still wouldn't work until I ran as administrator. It did connect to my Gypsy but didn't do any updates for now. I am going on a 4 day retreat and didn't want to risk it not working.

Will not download CCR as I don't use it anyway.

Thanks for your help

Linda
mickyminx Offline
#9 Posted : Wednesday, October 31, 2012 2:47:03 AM(UTC)
mickyminx

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 7/11/2012(UTC)
Posts: 30
United Kingdom

Thanks: 3 times
Was thanked: 13 time(s) in 7 post(s)
Hi, all working now, I had to set to run as administrator, connected my gypsy and updated with no problems.

michelle
lildixiedreams85ffde98a3 Offline
#10 Posted : Thursday, November 01, 2012 11:30:14 AM(UTC)
lildixiedreams85ffde98a3

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 10/29/2012(UTC)
Posts: 8
Location: SC

Thanks: 1 times
Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
I had the same issues with my CCR and my new laptop. PC hadnt released the drivers and it wouldnt work following any of their instructions. I guess if you just update your computer to windows 8 instead of buying a new one it might would work since the drivers would still be there for windows 7 or whatever (thats what the pc guy said anyways). I fought for 2 days and nothing worked so I ended up switching laptops with my father in law until PC decides to release the drivers. I emailed them and asked when that would be but of course no response.
GracefulGrammar Offline
#11 Posted : Thursday, November 01, 2012 1:12:37 PM(UTC)
GracefulGrammar

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 1/17/2008(UTC)
Posts: 2,472

Thanks: 1116 times
Was thanked: 2044 time(s) in 993 post(s)
Originally Posted by: LindainWA Go to Quoted Post
I have win8 and would like to know if I still need to disable my firewalls to download the sync program. I tried it both ways yesterday and got the same brigeing error and then read that there was a problem on PC's end.


Did you get a new computer or upgrade an existing Windows 7 computer?

GracefulGrammar Offline
#12 Posted : Thursday, November 01, 2012 1:13:54 PM(UTC)
GracefulGrammar

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 1/17/2008(UTC)
Posts: 2,472

Thanks: 1116 times
Was thanked: 2044 time(s) in 993 post(s)
Originally Posted by: mickyminx Go to Quoted Post
Hi, all working now, I had to set to run as administrator, connected my gypsy and updated with no problems.

michelle


Did you get a new computer or ungrade an existing Windows 7 computer?
mickyminx Offline
#13 Posted : Thursday, November 01, 2012 1:34:56 PM(UTC)
mickyminx

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 7/11/2012(UTC)
Posts: 30
United Kingdom

Thanks: 3 times
Was thanked: 13 time(s) in 7 post(s)
Originally Posted by: GracefulGrammar Go to Quoted Post
Did you get a new computer or ungrade an existing Windows 7 computer?


I bought a new laptop. this is what got me working:

installed sync, went to the program folder, right click on the exe file for properties then compatibility tab: set compatibility mode to windows 7 on both the bridge exe and sync exe, I then had to go back into properties and select run as administrator.

Then I installed CCR

Michelle
 1 user thanked mickyminx for this useful post.
ursula070454cc1081 on 11/2/2012(UTC)
GracefulGrammar Offline
#14 Posted : Thursday, November 01, 2012 5:46:36 PM(UTC)
GracefulGrammar

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 1/17/2008(UTC)
Posts: 2,472

Thanks: 1116 times
Was thanked: 2044 time(s) in 993 post(s)
Originally Posted by: mickyminx Go to Quoted Post
I bought a new laptop. this is what got me working:

installed sync, went to the program folder, right click on the exe file for properties then compatibility tab: set compatibility mode to windows 7 on both the bridge exe and sync exe, I then had to go back into properties and select run as administrator.

Then I installed CCR

Michelle


Have you tried updating your gypsy or using CCR with your computer? What flavor of Win 8 did you get?
mickyminx Offline
#15 Posted : Friday, November 02, 2012 9:49:25 AM(UTC)
mickyminx

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 7/11/2012(UTC)
Posts: 30
United Kingdom

Thanks: 3 times
Was thanked: 13 time(s) in 7 post(s)
Originally Posted by: GracefulGrammar Go to Quoted Post
Have you tried updating your gypsy or using CCR with your computer? What flavor of Win 8 did you get?


Hi

yes i did update my gypsy and CCR works well to, and i got X64 :(

now trying to fix a non cricut problem - my silhouette cameo wont install drivers as they are unsigned and X64 operating system will not allow unsigned drivers.

Where there is a will there's a way :)

Michelle

Edited by user Friday, November 02, 2012 9:50:20 AM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

ursula070454cc1081 Offline
#16 Posted : Friday, November 02, 2012 11:20:49 AM(UTC)
ursula070454cc1081

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 12/29/2011(UTC)
Posts: 1

Thanks: 4 times
Originally Posted by: mickyminx Go to Quoted Post
I bought a new laptop. this is what got me working:

installed sync, went to the program folder, right click on the exe file for properties then compatibility tab: set compatibility mode to windows 7 on both the bridge exe and sync exe, I then had to go back into properties and select run as administrator.

Then I installed CCR

Michelle


Thank you! This worked for me. I just got a new pc with windows 8. I can start crafting now. YAY!
Thanks!
GracefulGrammar Offline
#17 Posted : Friday, November 02, 2012 3:01:09 PM(UTC)
GracefulGrammar

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 1/17/2008(UTC)
Posts: 2,472

Thanks: 1116 times
Was thanked: 2044 time(s) in 993 post(s)
Originally Posted by: mickyminx Go to Quoted Post
Hi

yes i did update my gypsy and CCR works well to, and i got X64 :(

now trying to fix a non cricut problem - my silhouette cameo wont install drivers as they are unsigned and X64 operating system will not allow unsigned drivers.

Where there is a will there's a way :)

Michelle


I dont have my win8 computer yet so I can't test these fixes.......... but I googled the following "windows 8 install unsigned drivers:


http://answers.microsoft...5-4aa0-84c0-58b66b382d43

http://forums.laptopvide...ed-drivers-in-windows-8/

http://dhakshinamoorthy....driver-in-windows-8-x64/

Hope one of these does the trick for you :-)
 1 user thanked GracefulGrammar for this useful post.
mickyminx on 11/3/2012(UTC)
AndreaBoertje2 Offline
#18 Posted : Friday, November 02, 2012 4:10:42 PM(UTC)
AndreaBoertje2

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 11/9/2009(UTC)
Posts: 1

mhmh very interesting it downloaded my silhouette driver everything but my ccr did the compatibility mode and now it won't install the driver. just downloaded windows 8 and love it.
mickyminx Offline
#19 Posted : Saturday, November 03, 2012 12:49:39 AM(UTC)
mickyminx

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 7/11/2012(UTC)
Posts: 30
United Kingdom

Thanks: 3 times
Was thanked: 13 time(s) in 7 post(s)
Originally Posted by: GracefulGrammar Go to Quoted Post
I dont have my win8 computer yet so I can't test these fixes.......... but I googled the following "windows 8 install unsigned drivers:


http://answers.microsoft...5-4aa0-84c0-58b66b382d43

http://forums.laptopvide...ed-drivers-in-windows-8/

http://dhakshinamoorthy....driver-in-windows-8-x64/

Hope one of these does the trick for you :-)


Hi

Thanks for the links, I sorted it last night by doing a BCDEDIT and temporarily disabling driver integrity checks and then manually installing the driver using add printer.

The driver is not signed at all so when using the install from the driver folder it still would not install that way, windows 8 stops it, this is due to the new windows 8 UEFI secure boot which stops anything that has not been signed from running on boot.

Its all working now - I love a good challenge :)

michelle
jenniatonu Offline
#20 Posted : Monday, November 19, 2012 10:54:43 AM(UTC)
jenniatonu

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 8/24/2010(UTC)
Posts: 73

Thanks: 3 times
Was thanked: 29 time(s) in 23 post(s)
I have a new computer, and this 'fix' didn't do diddly squat.


Anybody else have an answer?
Users browsing this topic
Guest
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

Powered by YAF | YAF © 2003-2014, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 1.030 seconds.
nebo-cricut-03