Flag
  • Sign In
  • 0 items
  • Search
Welcome Guest! Please login to enable all features.

Notification

Icon
Error

azflower6bbf3367 Offline
#1 Posted : Thursday, January 03, 2013 3:17:34 PM(UTC)
azflower6bbf3367

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 1/3/2013(UTC)
Posts: 6

Thanks: 3 times
Huh I am a new Expressions 2 owner and a quilter. One of the main reasons I wanted this machine was to help with applique. I want to be able to cut out shapes and alphabet letters using the machine to cut fusible backed woven cotton fabric. So far no matter how I set the machine (cutting depth, speed and pressure) I have not been successful. The blade is not cutting through the fabric completely and is actually lifting the fabric off the backing (which I know has been applied correctly). Any suggtestions would be greatly appreciated because right now I feel I have spent a lot of money for nothing ;(

Linda
cricutcrazylisa Offline
#2 Posted : Thursday, January 03, 2013 3:32:34 PM(UTC)
cricutcrazylisa

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 8/23/2008(UTC)
Posts: 390
Location: Delano, TN

Thanks: 83 times
Was thanked: 109 time(s) in 81 post(s)
I don't own the E2 but I have cut fabric with the fusing on it with a deep cut housing full depth full pressure and medium speed. I used a medium weight fabric....worked well..good luck!
Lisa
 1 user thanked cricutcrazylisa for this useful post.
azflower6bbf3367 on 1/4/2013(UTC)
wpbrennemanb3f7bf75 Offline
#3 Posted : Thursday, January 03, 2013 5:02:00 PM(UTC)
wpbrennemanb3f7bf75

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 12/29/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2

Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
Originally Posted by: azflower6bbf3367 Go to Quoted Post
Huh I am a new Expressions 2 owner and a quilter. One of the main reasons I wanted this machine was to help with applique. I want to be able to cut out shapes and alphabet letters using the machine to cut fusible backed woven cotton fabric. So far no matter how I set the machine (cutting depth, speed and pressure) I have not been successful. The blade is not cutting through the fabric completely and is actually lifting the fabric off the backing (which I know has been applied correctly). Any suggtestions would be greatly appreciated because right now I feel I have spent a lot of money for nothing ;(

Linda


Try using the deep cut blade they are less then 35 dollars and should cut threw that the deep cut blade is longer and sharper.

bill
 1 user thanked wpbrennemanb3f7bf75 for this useful post.
azflower6bbf3367 on 1/4/2013(UTC)
azflower6bbf3367 Offline
#4 Posted : Friday, January 04, 2013 10:36:55 AM(UTC)
azflower6bbf3367

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 1/3/2013(UTC)
Posts: 6

Thanks: 3 times
Thank you for the quick replies to my call for help. I did purchase the deep cut blade and will try cutting fabric with it as suggested. I don't know why the Cricut doesn't post that information rather than what is posted.

LindaMellow
TammyPuckett Offline
#5 Posted : Friday, January 04, 2013 10:44:04 AM(UTC)
TammyPuckett

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 1/3/2010(UTC)
Posts: 916

Thanks: 148 times
Was thanked: 364 time(s) in 216 post(s)
I just use the regular blade & do the multi-cut on 2 with the heat bond on the back of the fabic. It works great!
FionaWallace Offline
#6 Posted : Saturday, January 05, 2013 9:17:00 AM(UTC)
FionaWallace

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 11/21/2009(UTC)
Posts: 112
Location: Paisley, Scotland

Thanks: 21 times
Was thanked: 27 time(s) in 21 post(s)
I used Heat'n'bond with the regular blade on maximum depth & pressure and had no problems. I'd keep a blade for only cutting material.
missbdesigns Offline
#7 Posted : Monday, January 07, 2013 3:49:05 PM(UTC)
missbdesigns

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 11/11/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2
Location: Michigan

I had trouble cutting a single layer of cotton fabric... do I need to use a backing for it? I even asked the CS lady I was talking to about the settings but they didn't work. :(
Soo Offline
#8 Posted : Monday, January 07, 2013 4:05:24 PM(UTC)
Soo

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 3/25/2011(UTC)
Posts: 398
United Kingdom
Location: London

Thanks: 212 times
Was thanked: 226 time(s) in 143 post(s)
I cut fabric with my E2 and have been pleased so far! My top tips are:
* Heat'n Bond works best for me as a backing
* I remove the paper backing from the Heat n Bond before I put the fabric on the mat
* Use a sticky mat
* Use a sharp blade (I have a blade I use only for fabric projects as paper really blunts the blade)

I use the regular housing and don't have to multi cut - but as you can see from the other responses, settings vary probably depending on fabric, backing and the sharpness of your blade.

These are some banners I cut from my E2 before Christmas.

Edited by user Monday, January 07, 2013 4:06:03 PM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

 1 user thanked Soo for this useful post.
Spookysnip on 1/17/2013(UTC)
Soo Offline
#9 Posted : Monday, January 07, 2013 4:07:32 PM(UTC)
Soo

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 3/25/2011(UTC)
Posts: 398
United Kingdom
Location: London

Thanks: 212 times
Was thanked: 226 time(s) in 143 post(s)
Originally Posted by: missbdesigns Go to Quoted Post
I had trouble cutting a single layer of cotton fabric... do I need to use a backing for it? I even asked the CS lady I was talking to about the settings but they didn't work. :(


You definitely need to use a backing or starch (although I've never tried this) to cut fabric. The fabric as it is is too unstable for the E2 to cut properly.
Users browsing this topic
Guest
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

Powered by YAF | YAF © 2003-2014, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 1.153 seconds.
nebo-cricut-03