Flag
  • Sign In
  • 0 items
  • Search
Welcome Guest! Please login to enable all features.

Notification

Icon
Error

debbiewilliams599598cf7e Offline
#1 Posted : Monday, February 18, 2013 2:27:14 PM(UTC)
debbiewilliams599598cf7e

Groups: Registered

I am new to Cricut. I just bought my first Cricut Expression and I know I am going to love it but...I am having the most horrible time trying to get paper off the mat after I cut something. The paper ripped and stuck to the mat wasting a whole sheet of paper. I had to take a cooking spatula to get the second sheet off and then it curled and I couldn't use the rest of the paper. I must be doing something wrong. It took me some time figuring out about the depth. My first attempt at cutting turned into a mess that wasn't cut through all the way. I know this is going to be fun! I ordered tools and more mats and extra blades and even a couple of new cartridges. Now I am afraid I have wasted a LOT of money on these things and I am not going to be able to do this. I do a lot of scrapbooking and I know this can help a lot with that. But when does it get easier and what am I doing wrong? It's not the machine...it is the operator! Any advice for beginners? I need some badly! Blushing
MaryStillman Offline
#2 Posted : Monday, February 18, 2013 2:51:17 PM(UTC)
MaryStillman

Was thanked: 1248 time(s) in 791 post(s)
You caught on quick! ProvoCraft does sell a spatula for removing cuts from the sticky mats. I use mine all the time, and the stickier the mat, the more I use it. I would suggest you invest in one or two from your local craft store. The ones that are made to lift images off the mat have a much finer edge that help get under the pieces.

It's like a catch 22, you need a really sticky mat to cut the intricate pieces, but the intricate pieces won't come off the sticky mat.

Mary
Godot's Girl Offline
#3 Posted : Monday, February 18, 2013 4:36:32 PM(UTC)
Godot's Girl

Medals: Cricut Circle Member: Member of the Cricut Circle