Flag
  • Sign In
  • 0 items
  • Search
Welcome Guest! Please login to enable all features.

Notification

Icon
Error

LAURA_CHUBBY_MD148df7c88 Offline
#1 Posted : Sunday, May 12, 2013 9:38:03 PM(UTC)
LAURA_CHUBBY_MD148df7c88

Groups: Registered

I AM TRYING TO FIND SOME VINYL FOR CHEAP. I JUST GOT MY CRICUT AND I AM IN AWE HOW MUCH IT ALL COSTS. I CAN DEAL WITH IT BUT IS THERE ANYWHERE I CAN GET CHEAP VINYL FOR, MAYBE IN MULTIPLE COLORS INSTEAD OF A WHOLE ROLL OF PINK,ETC?

AND HAVE ANY OF YOU USED CONTACT PAPER INSTEAD OF VINYL AND IF SO, HOW ARE YOU ADHERING IT TO THE WALL, GLASS,ETC?

THANKS AND SORRY IM A NEWBIE! Laugh
AuntieKLE Online
#2 Posted : Sunday, May 12, 2013 10:49:11 PM(UTC)
AuntieKLE

Was thanked: 148 time(s) in 113 post(s)
I copied this from the MB a few years ago.

HTH

Kut N Print http://www.cricut.com/me...eboard/tm.aspx?m=4665652

-Do not be afraid. Vinyl cutting is easier than just about anything else because Cricut machines are derived from vinyl cutters.

- watch this little video. It is so much easier to show than to tell.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YGrnkFRTDPo
Covers "kiss-cutting" (cutting through vinyl not backing) and transfer tape, the 2 biggst tips and concepts people have trouble understanding.

-The big question that comes up daily is where to buy and that depends on the colors, quantities, and type you want and where you live. One thing is certain, Cricut vinyl is the most expensive way to go.

-Cricut vinyl is Oracal 631

-Many sign shops will give their scraps (plenty large enough for Cricut cutting) to crafters for free.

-You can cut just about any kind of vinyl including contact paper (adhesive shelf liner), Wall Pops (a brand of white vinyl with printed colors and patterns on one side), Quikkutz vinyl, heat transfer vinyl, etc.

-Do not use sign/vehicle vinyl on walls unless you want to repaint

-you can layer sign/vehicle vinyl on wall-safe vinyl to use it on walls