Flag
  • Sign In
  • 0 items
  • Search
Welcome Guest! Please login to enable all features.

Notification

Icon
Error

cms44029f3eadaa Offline
#1 Posted : Monday, August 26, 2013 8:30:53 PM(UTC)
cms44029f3eadaa

Groups: Registered

I'm new to cricut and I just did my first cut and the scrap book paper stuck to my mat and what I could get off is all curly how do I stop this from happening?
TheSingingCrafter Offline
#2 Posted : Monday, August 26, 2013 8:54:38 PM(UTC)
TheSingingCrafter

Was thanked: 29 time(s) in 22 post(s)
New mats for the most part causes paper to stick. After several full cuts your mat will loose stickiness and you won't encounter that problem. You will however need to spray your mat with adhesive because your mat will eventually (sooner not later) loose all stickiness. You can pick up adhesive spray at a craft store. I use Tacky by Aleene's but you could try any variety just make sure acid free.
Olivia'sNana Offline
#3 Posted : Tuesday, August 27, 2013 3:45:27 AM(UTC)
Olivia'sNana

Was thanked: 915 time(s) in 449 post(s)
particularly if you are cutting thin paper, a new mat needs to be seasoned first by patting your hands over it or laying a clean tshirt on it. That will take away the excess sticky.

I generally will not use a brand new mat on thin paper but instead will cut heavier card stock first for the first couple of times and just gently lay the paper on the mat without pressing it down. The sticky goes away fast enough so I hate the idea of doing something that intentionally takes it away.
CowgirlUp Offline
#4 Posted : Tuesday, August 27, 2013 9:01:38 AM(UTC)
CowgirlUp

Medals: Cricut Circle Member: Member of the Cricut Circle

Groups: Circle Member, Registered
United States

Was thanked: 897 time(s) in 729 post(s)
just a reminder if you re-stick your mat (as someone earlier suggested) it will void the warranty on your machine.

I have 2 mats that i use one for cardstock (a newer mat) and one for scrapbook paper (an older mat)