Flag
  • Sign In
  • 0 items
  • Search
Welcome Guest! Please login to enable all features.

Notification

Icon
Error

MJ Scrapper Offline
#1 Posted : Wednesday, September 11, 2013 6:51:29 AM(UTC)
MJ Scrapper

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 10/25/2010(UTC)
Posts: 174

Thanks: 48 times
Was thanked: 70 time(s) in 42 post(s)
Excuse me for a dumb question, but do the borders automatically cut out 12 inches long? If I set my machine at 2", does it mean the border will be 2 inches wide and 12 inches long? THANKS! I am getting a good deal on the EE cart and wanted to know how to use it before I get it.
southgirltexas Offline
#2 Posted : Wednesday, September 11, 2013 7:32:18 AM(UTC)
southgirltexas

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 7/16/2009(UTC)
Posts: 1,291
Location: Texarkana, Texas

Thanks: 58 times
Was thanked: 569 time(s) in 341 post(s)
No, you either have to cut more borders and place them side by side or use Design Studio, Gypsy or CCR to weld them together.
 1 user thanked southgirltexas for this useful post.
MJ Scrapper on 9/11/2013(UTC)
MJ Scrapper Offline
#3 Posted : Wednesday, September 11, 2013 7:36:41 AM(UTC)
MJ Scrapper

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 10/25/2010(UTC)
Posts: 174

Thanks: 48 times
Was thanked: 70 time(s) in 42 post(s)
Quote:
No, you either have to cut more borders and place them side by side or use Design Studio, Gypsy or CCR to weld them together.


Thanks for the reply. I don't use CCR or the other systems so welding is not an option. I wonder if they look bad when you have to piece them together?
southgirltexas Offline
#4 Posted : Wednesday, September 11, 2013 1:49:07 PM(UTC)
southgirltexas

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 7/16/2009(UTC)
Posts: 1,291
Location: Texarkana, Texas

Thanks: 58 times
Was thanked: 569 time(s) in 341 post(s)
Some do some don't. Give it a try and see...it is only paper. Some of the design you can place over the connection area of the border and kind of hide it.
CricketCMV Offline
#5 Posted : Wednesday, September 11, 2013 2:02:10 PM(UTC)
CricketCMV

Rank: Advanced Member

Medals: Cricut Circle Member: Member of the Cricut Circle

Groups: Registered, Circle Member
Joined: 2/21/2009(UTC)
Posts: 15,033
Location: Illinois

Thanks: 18587 times
Was thanked: 8165 time(s) in 4787 post(s)
I placed just one of the borders in EE on the CCR mat......at 2" tall, the length came out to 10" on the one I used. So, I would assume they all measure the same. That was using RELATIVE DIAL SIZE.

If you want me to see what it would be with a particular image and using REAL DIAL SIZE, come back and tell me. Or, maybe someone else can show you before I get back.

Char
scrapalette Offline
#6 Posted : Wednesday, September 11, 2013 2:06:03 PM(UTC)
scrapalette

Rank: Advanced Member

Medals: Cricut Circle Member: Member of the Cricut Circle

Groups: Circle Member, Registered
Joined: 7/12/2008(UTC)
Posts: 23,789
United States
Location: FB: Cricut Lovers Guide to Design Space

Thanks: 8577 times
Was thanked: 19106 time(s) in 8537 post(s)
I was playing with a few in CCR and it depends on the border. All are sized at 2 inches high {in the screenshot} and you can see the difference in length of the first 5 borders. Keep in mind too, that you can't get a full 12 inch cut using the 12x12 mat. You can with the 12x24 mat.

Edited by user Wednesday, September 11, 2013 2:08:17 PM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

scrapalette attached the following image(s):
a1test.jpg
CricketCMV Offline
#7 Posted : Wednesday, September 11, 2013 6:25:19 PM(UTC)
CricketCMV

Rank: Advanced Member

Medals: Cricut Circle Member: Member of the Cricut Circle

Groups: Registered, Circle Member
Joined: 2/21/2009(UTC)
Posts: 15,033
Location: Illinois

Thanks: 18587 times
Was thanked: 8165 time(s) in 4787 post(s)
The really NEAT thing about CCR is that you can take each of those borders and make them EXACTLY the length and heighth you want them to be. I realize, though, that some of you just don't want anything to do with CCR and/or your setups don't allow you to use it efficiently. Just pointing out how easy it is in those programs (CDS/Gypsy/CCR) for those who have never tried them who might want to do so.

We can take those three borders Scrapalette put together (that stretches out beyond the mat), to scrunch them down to a lower heighth and use the arrows on the length to shorten the length to make it fit perfectly to whatever you're trying to do on your projects. That is, you're taking the three borders, welding them together and sizing them perfectly to your need.

Char
scrapalette Offline
#8 Posted : Wednesday, September 11, 2013 8:19:06 PM(UTC)
scrapalette

Rank: Advanced Member

Medals: Cricut Circle Member: Member of the Cricut Circle

Groups: Circle Member, Registered
Joined: 7/12/2008(UTC)
Posts: 23,789
United States
Location: FB: Cricut Lovers Guide to Design Space

Thanks: 8577 times
Was thanked: 19106 time(s) in 8537 post(s)
I didn't change any of the lengths or weld any of the borders in the screenshot of borders {although you can certainly do that in CCR}. I simply set the Default Height for 2 inches and put the images on the mat. That's why it depends on how the border was designed. Some of them are proportional at 2 x 10 and others are 2 x 6. Each border will cut a different length, depending on the proportion it was designed to.
Users browsing this topic
Guest
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

Powered by YAF | YAF © 2003-2014, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.446 seconds.
nebo-cricut-04