Flag
  • Sign In
  • 0 items
  • Search
Welcome Guest! Please login to enable all features.

Notification

Icon
Error

brodgers6262c2271de Offline
#1 Posted : Saturday, February 22, 2014 9:46:23 AM(UTC)
brodgers6262c2271de

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 2/22/2014(UTC)
Posts: 1

Was thanked: 2 time(s) in 1 post(s)
Can I upload an image from my computer to cut? How do I do it if so???
 2 users thanked brodgers6262c2271de for this useful post.
DarleneDuncan on 5/4/2014(UTC), JudiAlvis on 7/9/2014(UTC)
Maxluv Offline
#2 Posted : Saturday, February 22, 2014 11:21:50 AM(UTC)
Maxluv

Rank: Advanced Member

Medals: Cricut Circle Member: Member of the Cricut Circle

Groups: Registered, Circle Member
Joined: 12/27/2010(UTC)
Posts: 2,203
United States
Location: Baltimore MD

Thanks: 42 times
Was thanked: 483 time(s) in 370 post(s)
Only if you have the newest Cricut machine the Explore. All of the other machines are cartridge based.
Cazz Offline
#3 Posted : Sunday, March 02, 2014 12:19:01 PM(UTC)
Cazz

Rank: Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 7/23/2012(UTC)
Posts: 12
United States

Thanks: 2 times
Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
I have the Explore. Just started playing with it yesterday and went through the tutorial, etc. I also cut out an intricate Anna Griffin Doily just to test it on small, delicate detail cuts. It came out beautifully! So... My question is similar to above. I don't understand how to use my OWN fonts. How do I make them "cut out-able"? Also, how do I use my old carts from E2? I must say that the ONLY thing I don't like about the Explore is that it HAS to be hooked up to computer to use.
redwilley6c0b4c19 Offline
#4 Posted : Sunday, March 02, 2014 4:51:09 PM(UTC)
redwilley6c0b4c19

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 6/17/2012(UTC)
Posts: 9

Was thanked: 2 time(s) in 1 post(s)
I am having the same issue. I figured out how to upload my own images and everything looks great until I try to put them on the mat. That's when my images turn into a big black rectangle. I can't even register my new machine because it keeps saying the product name is invalid.

If anyone could help us it would be much appreciated.

ETA: Okay, I think I figured it out. If you go to the design space and push the blue button that has a plus symbol on it, it will take you to a blank canvas. In the upper left corner of the canvas are four subdued options: Insert Images, Upload Images, Add Text, and Set Canvas.

Click the upload images icon choose either basic upload or the vector upload option depending on what type of file you are using.

Find and select the image on your computer and it will then give you the option of cleaning up the image to remove anything you don't want to have cut out in the final image.

Then you just add it to your canvas and design and cut away!

I hope this helps.

Edited by user Sunday, March 02, 2014 8:14:01 PM(UTC)  | Reason: Additional Information

 2 users thanked redwilley6c0b4c19 for this useful post.
SewFanny on 3/4/2014(UTC), JudiAlvis on 7/9/2014(UTC)
hcd197347288a13 Offline
#5 Posted : Sunday, March 09, 2014 6:33:06 AM(UTC)
hcd197347288a13

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 2/26/2014(UTC)
Posts: 3

Was thanked: 2 time(s) in 1 post(s)
My Design space will no longer let me "clean up" an image that I have imported.Confused Any suggestions... I am stll waiting on my Explore to be delivered so I was wondering once I have a registered machine to the program will it open up more options. I really hope that they do a shadow application. Some are really hard to have it look right.
nia.nolesbc83f4be Offline
#6 Posted : Thursday, March 13, 2014 3:41:25 PM(UTC)
nia.nolesbc83f4be

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 2/22/2014(UTC)
Posts: 8

Thanks: 1 times
I too am having difficulty after importing an image. I have tried 3 times to clean up a (fairly intricate)image. I get within just a few spots before I'm done and it crashes my browser. I'm using Mozilla Firefox. I know that everything we are doing is "in the cloud", so I'm wondering if there may be a limit as to how much can be processed without crashing. How do we submit this issue for the techs at Cricut to look into this?
arizonagale7d7ae967 Offline
#7 Posted : Monday, March 17, 2014 10:03:56 AM(UTC)
arizonagale7d7ae967

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 3/17/2014(UTC)
Posts: 1

Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
I'm very upset with my purchase! You can't cut Svgs...they turn into big black blobs
You can not delete them once you've downloaded the vector. I can not bring in
JPEG, pngs or any thing off the internet...you guessed it....just a big black blob.
I've called cricut support many times...alls I get is will call you back....NOT!
Anyone else having these problems...or answers to my problem...Angry Cursing Mad
Plus I had to buy a new computer to use the explorer..I'm out a lot of money an very dissatisfied !


 1 user thanked arizonagale7d7ae967 for this useful post.
MCDS on 3/31/2014(UTC)
Tracey C Offline
#8 Posted : Thursday, March 20, 2014 5:37:16 AM(UTC)
Tracey C

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 1/17/2014(UTC)
Posts: 9

Thanks: 2 times
Was thanked: 5 time(s) in 3 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Cazz Go to Quoted Post
I have the Explore. Just started playing with it yesterday and went through the tutorial, etc. I also cut out an intricate Anna Griffin Doily just to test it on small, delicate detail cuts. It came out beautifully! So... My question is similar to above. I don't understand how to use my OWN fonts. How do I make them "cut out-able"? Also, how do I use my old carts from E2? I must say that the ONLY thing I don't like about the Explore is that it HAS to be hooked up to computer to use.


I just got my Explore yesterday and it took me a while to figure out how to use my own fonts, but here is how you do it:

Click Add text from menu item on left of Design Space.
Click edit from menu item on top right of screen in design space
Within edit at the top right there is a small grey drop down menu that says "All Fonts". Click the little down arrow to open up your options. Select "system fonts" . These are the fonts that are stored on your computer. Select the one you want and type away.

Now if I could figure out all the other things I am trying to do, I would be in business!! I guess there is a learning curve with everything!

Edited by user Thursday, March 20, 2014 5:38:29 AM(UTC)  | Reason: typo

MCDS Offline
#9 Posted : Monday, March 31, 2014 2:48:07 PM(UTC)
MCDS

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 3/31/2014(UTC)
Posts: 1

Thanks: 1 times
I am also having trouble deleting images from "My images" in Design Space. I uploaded a child's profile and it turned into a black rectangle upon uploading. Now I can't delete it. Any advice?
MarthaJackson Offline
#10 Posted : Monday, March 31, 2014 3:05:18 PM(UTC)
MarthaJackson

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 12/14/2006(UTC)
Posts: 136

Thanks: 21 times
Was thanked: 57 time(s) in 42 post(s)
Originally Posted by: MCDS Go to Quoted Post
I am also having trouble deleting images from "My images" in Design Space. I uploaded a child's profile and it turned into a black rectangle upon uploading. Now I can't delete it. Any advice?


At this time it's not possible to delete uploaded items.

Martha
golfingrams Offline
#11 Posted : Thursday, April 24, 2014 8:43:48 AM(UTC)
golfingrams

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 10/23/2013(UTC)
Posts: 1,112
Location: South Dakota MQ pg17 #487 and 503

Thanks: 17 times
Was thanked: 407 time(s) in 360 post(s)
I am pretty new to this, are SVG files only usable in the Explore? Thanks
Sherri Kay Offline
#12 Posted : Thursday, April 24, 2014 10:25:11 AM(UTC)
Sherri Kay

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 1/9/2010(UTC)
Posts: 6,775
United States
Location: Minnesota

Thanks: 434 times
Was thanked: 2413 time(s) in 2165 post(s)
Yes, that is right.
scrapalette Offline
#13 Posted : Thursday, April 24, 2014 12:41:10 PM(UTC)
scrapalette

Rank: Advanced Member

Medals: Cricut Circle Member: Member of the Cricut Circle

Groups: Circle Member, Registered
Joined: 7/12/2008(UTC)
Posts: 23,831
United States
Location: FB: Cricut Lovers Guide to Design Space

Thanks: 8585 times
Was thanked: 19134 time(s) in 8556 post(s)
Originally Posted by: golfingrams986a1173 Go to Quoted Post
I am pretty new to this, are SVG files only usable in the Explore? Thanks


As far as Cricut machines, yes the Explore is the only Cricut that uses Design Space which can read SVG files.

But, SVGs are a general file type and lots of cutters on the market have software that can read them. Of course, you can't use your carts with those cutters!
golfingrams Offline
#14 Posted : Thursday, April 24, 2014 6:15:06 PM(UTC)
golfingrams

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 10/23/2013(UTC)
Posts: 1,112
Location: South Dakota MQ pg17 #487 and 503

Thanks: 17 times
Was thanked: 407 time(s) in 360 post(s)
Thank you ladies. I have saved some but will use when I get mine.
winna21779947de3 Offline
#15 Posted : Saturday, May 03, 2014 4:53:08 PM(UTC)
winna21779947de3

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 5/3/2014(UTC)
Posts: 1

I too am getting the "Big Black Box" when I try to upload my .jpg images. I've read the various posts and noone seems to have the answer!!! Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Linda in MI
Maxluv Offline
#16 Posted : Saturday, May 03, 2014 5:40:37 PM(UTC)
Maxluv

Rank: Advanced Member

Medals: Cricut Circle Member: Member of the Cricut Circle

Groups: Registered, Circle Member
Joined: 12/27/2010(UTC)
Posts: 2,203
United States
Location: Baltimore MD

Thanks: 42 times
Was thanked: 483 time(s) in 370 post(s)
Originally Posted by: winna21779947de3 Go to Quoted Post
I too am getting the "Big Black Box" when I try to upload my .jpg images. I've read the various posts and noone seems to have the answer!!! Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Linda in MI

Call the help desk they can assist you.

Omar Offline
#17 Posted : Thursday, May 15, 2014 6:07:51 PM(UTC)
Omar

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 5/10/2014(UTC)
Posts: 90
Location: In Santiago of Chile

Thanks: 56 times
Was thanked: 69 time(s) in 37 post(s)
You guys HAVE to use internet explorer for design space to work. Chrome or firefox crash all the time. Don't even try to make a firmware update on Chrome, I thought I'd lost my explore forever.
If you feel like it, try my blog
http://awesomesvgs.blogspot.com/
 1 user thanked Omar for this useful post.
ScrapCheryl on 8/2/2014(UTC)
missydb4358aa Offline
#18 Posted : Wednesday, May 28, 2014 7:00:26 PM(UTC)
missydb4358aa

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 5/24/2014(UTC)
Posts: 1

Ok, but I have a Mac and Explorer isn't supported...anyone have a solution for that? I've tried Friefox, Safari and Chrome and get a black box every time I upload my own photo.
Cricut Jo Ann Offline
#19 Posted : Wednesday, May 28, 2014 7:08:57 PM(UTC)
Cricut Jo Ann

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Circle Moderator, Cricut Community Moderator
Joined: 6/28/2013(UTC)
Posts: 165

Thanks: 65 times
Was thanked: 92 time(s) in 50 post(s)
Hi, This is Cricut JoAnn.

Here are some quick tutorials that might helps when uploading images.

This one is to upload any basic image (.jpg, .bmp, .gif, .png)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wTsRwvnkOBE

This one is for any Vector image (.svg, .dxf)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6-fIbOic8Rs


Hopefully this helps.


If you are using a Mac, then you will need to use Chrome or Firefox.
 1 user thanked Cricut Jo Ann for this useful post.
ScrapCheryl on 8/2/2014(UTC)
Sherri Kay Offline
#20 Posted : Wednesday, May 28, 2014 7:46:08 PM(UTC)
Sherri Kay

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 1/9/2010(UTC)
Posts: 6,775
United States
Location: Minnesota

Thanks: 434 times
Was thanked: 2413 time(s) in 2165 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Omar Go to Quoted Post
You guys HAVE to use internet explorer for design space to work. Chrome or firefox crash all the time. Don't even try to make a firmware update on Chrome, I thought I'd lost my explore forever.
If you feel like it, try my blog
http://awesomesvgs.blogspot.com/


This is not true. I have been using Chrome ever since I got my Explore and have had no issues whatsoever.
LesleyClark2 Offline
#21 Posted : Monday, June 23, 2014 2:17:51 AM(UTC)
LesleyClark2

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 1/2/2010(UTC)
Posts: 6

Thanks: 2 times
Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
I have just returned my Explore. It was just a nightmare I could do without. I tried calling for assistance and no one ever got back to me by phone or email. I have the expression and it works well but wanted the download capability with the new explore. I was so excited to get it from Hubby and he is so annoyed it hasn't worked out. Now I cant get my expression to work cause my cartridges have all linked to my old gypsy, which doesn't work, and no one will return my call! As you can perhaps tell I am a very unhappy cricut!!!!!!Mad Angry Cursing
theproc0a14c052 Offline
#22 Posted : Monday, June 23, 2014 7:50:21 AM(UTC)
theproc0a14c052

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 4/24/2013(UTC)
Posts: 371

Thanks: 58 times
Was thanked: 130 time(s) in 115 post(s)
Originally Posted by: LesleyClark2 Go to Quoted Post
I have just returned my Explore. It was just a nightmare I could do without. I tried calling for assistance and no one ever got back to me by phone or email. I have the expression and it works well but wanted the download capability with the new explore. I was so excited to get it from Hubby and he is so annoyed it hasn't worked out. Now I cant get my expression to work cause my cartridges have all linked to my old gypsy, which doesn't work, and no one will return my call! As you can perhaps tell I am a very unhappy cricut!!!!!!Mad Angry Cursing


The Expression, being a stand alone machine, should work fine if you insert the cartridge in the slot and cut that way. Linking to a gypsy has no impact when using the cart in the machine. If you have a computer near your Expression (assuming since you had an Explore you do), you can also cut via cricut craft room (CCR) using any carts you own that are uplinked to your cricut.com account or by buying the subscription service and cutting images that way.

In case you weren't aware, Provo Craft now offers a repair service for the Gypsy. If you love your Gypsy or need to link your carts, it's an option you might consider.
jmkartist Offline
#23 Posted : Friday, June 27, 2014 7:23:38 PM(UTC)
jmkartist

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 6/27/2014(UTC)
Posts: 3

yes, and you can delete them too I finally discovered. Click on the upload image button and on the bottom it shows all your uploaded files. Scroll over and delete will appear.
scrapalette Offline
#24 Posted : Friday, June 27, 2014 7:44:27 PM(UTC)
scrapalette

Rank: Advanced Member

Medals: Cricut Circle Member: Member of the Cricut Circle

Groups: Circle Member, Registered
Joined: 7/12/2008(UTC)
Posts: 23,831
United States
Location: FB: Cricut Lovers Guide to Design Space

Thanks: 8585 times
Was thanked: 19134 time(s) in 8556 post(s)
Originally Posted by: janine.kurzingerd4a31be4 Go to Quoted Post
yes, and you can delete them too I finally discovered. Click on the upload image button and on the bottom it shows all your uploaded files. Scroll over and delete will appear.


The delete option was added after this thread was started. But you are correct on hoovering over the image and the delete option is there.
jmkartist Offline
#25 Posted : Saturday, June 28, 2014 5:49:11 AM(UTC)
jmkartist

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 6/27/2014(UTC)
Posts: 3

Originally Posted by: MCDS Go to Quoted Post
I am also having trouble deleting images from "My images" in Design Space. I uploaded a child's profile and it turned into a black rectangle upon uploading. Now I can't delete it. Any advice?



Yes. Click on either basic upload or vector upload and on the bottom of the window it shows icons of your uploaded files. Scroll over with your mouse and delete option will show. Click it and bingo!

dhulen14da8d8b Offline
#26 Posted : Saturday, July 26, 2014 6:06:05 PM(UTC)
dhulen14da8d8b

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 7/25/2014(UTC)
Posts: 4

Thanks: 1 times
Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
I have a swing card that I have formatted perfectly but when I click GO to cut it, one of the groups of items shows scattered on the mat preview. It is practically impossible to get them lined back up in the preview plus I don't want to have to do that every time I cut this card. Any ideas what I may be doing wrong?
scrapalette Offline
#27 Posted : Saturday, July 26, 2014 8:27:31 PM(UTC)
scrapalette

Rank: Advanced Member

Medals: Cricut Circle Member: Member of the Cricut Circle

Groups: Circle Member, Registered
Joined: 7/12/2008(UTC)
Posts: 23,831
United States
Location: FB: Cricut Lovers Guide to Design Space

Thanks: 8585 times
Was thanked: 19134 time(s) in 8556 post(s)
Sounds like you need to Attach all your images.

https://www.youtube.com/...qhz82HWR4OHjj1Gxi38BsRSr

If you're on Facebook, come join us in the Cricut Lovers Guide to Design Space group:

https://www.facebook.com/groups/487705104684042/
Users browsing this topic
Guest (2)
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

Powered by YAF | YAF © 2003-2014, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 2.277 seconds.
nebo-cricut-01