Flag
  • Sign In
  • 0 items
  • Search
Welcome Guest! Please login to enable all features.

Notification

Icon
Error

LynPeterson Offline
#1 Posted : Sunday, October 03, 2010 8:43:33 AM(UTC)
LynPeterson

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 9/25/2010(UTC)
Posts: 3

Thanks: 2 times
I am new to all of this. I have the Expressions and Design Studio. I understand that if I do not own the cartridge, I cannot cut the image. My question is...how to I load the cartridges that I own to Design Studio? BigGrin
lavenderblue Offline
#2 Posted : Sunday, October 03, 2010 9:08:29 AM(UTC)
lavenderblue

Rank: Advanced Member

Medals: Cricut Circle Member: Member of the Cricut Circle

Groups: Registered, Circle Member
Joined: 9/17/2008(UTC)
Posts: 47

Thanks: 11 times
Was thanked: 10 time(s) in 8 post(s)
Welcome!! You need jukebox with Design studio in order for it work (more than 1 cart). follow this link ( http://www.cricut.com/sh...#0/1/187/1/Cricut/Cricut Jukebox ) for more details about jukebox.
LynPeterson Offline
#3 Posted : Sunday, October 03, 2010 9:12:54 AM(UTC)
LynPeterson

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 9/25/2010(UTC)
Posts: 3

Thanks: 2 times
Now I really feel like I am missing something. I have the Jukebox also. Sorry did not think to mention that in the first post. I have five cartridges in there at this time. When looking at the drop down in Design Studio, I am not seeing the cartridges listed. Sorry I was not clear on the previous post. Crying
Doxieluv01 Offline
#4 Posted : Sunday, October 03, 2010 9:23:10 AM(UTC)
Doxieluv01

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 1/18/2007(UTC)
Posts: 9,716
Location: Sunny S. Florida

Thanks: 926 times
Was thanked: 2263 time(s) in 1789 post(s)
LynPeterson wrote:
Now I really feel like I am missing something. I have the Jukebox also. Sorry did not think to mention that in the first post. I have five cartridges in there at this time. When looking at the drop down in Design Studio, I am not seeing the cartridges listed. Sorry I was not clear on the previous post. Crying


you need to update your software. DS doesn't know if you own cartridges or not. It will check the jukebox or your bug when you go to cut the design. You can find the updates here http://www.cricut.com/cds/Update.aspx

If you've never updated your software you will need to do BOTH downloads making sure to first SAVE to your computer and then RUN the downloads. If you have updated your software before you will just need to do the second download.

When you go to run the downloads you might need to turn off your firewall depending on your computer settings.
 1 user thanked Doxieluv01 for this useful post.
LynPeterson on 10/3/2010(UTC)
LynPeterson Offline
#5 Posted : Sunday, October 03, 2010 7:37:08 PM(UTC)
LynPeterson

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 9/25/2010(UTC)
Posts: 3

Thanks: 2 times
I put a thank you on your post. That was the exact information I needed. All of the cartridges that I currently own, (only 5), are now available for me to use in the DS.
PattyGolden Offline
#6 Posted : Monday, October 04, 2010 3:17:58 PM(UTC)
PattyGolden

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 1/27/2008(UTC)
Posts: 122
Location: NW Ohio

Thanks: 11 times
Was thanked: 210 time(s) in 25 post(s)
LynPeterson wrote:
I put a thank you on your post. That was the exact information I needed. All of the cartridges that I currently own, (only 5), are now available for me to use in the DS.


know too that you can add them to your 'my cartridges' list. this is handy when you don't want to scroll through all of the cartridges, but just the ones that you own.

double click on the cartridge so that the keypad is showing in the middle window of DS, then click on 'preferences' and 'my cartridge'. after you do that for all of them, under 'view' in the left window, you can choose 'my cartridges' and just have the list that you own.

isn't this fun? BigGrin

Edited by user Monday, October 04, 2010 3:18:34 PM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Narelle Offline
#7 Posted : Monday, October 04, 2010 5:23:41 PM(UTC)
Narelle

Rank: Advanced Member

Medals: Cricut Circle Member: Member of the Cricut Circle

Groups: Circle Member, Registered
Joined: 9/26/2006(UTC)
Posts: 10,996
Australia
Location: Facebook: Cricut Lovers Guide to Design Space

Thanks: 2036 times
Was thanked: 7902 time(s) in 3704 post(s)
lavenderblue wrote:
Welcome!! You need jukebox with Design studio in order for it work (more than 1 cart). follow this link ( http://www.cricut.com/sh...#0/1/187/1/Cricut/Cricut Jukebox ) for more details about jukebox.


Actually, you DON'T need a jukebox to cut from multiple carts using DS.

When you go to cut a design DS will ask if you're using a Jukebox. Answer No.

It will then prompt you to insert each cart that is used in the design. (Don't turn the cricut off when you are changing the carts).

Once all the carts used in the design have been recognised by the cricut your design will cut.
 1 user thanked Narelle for this useful post.
Penguin Collector on 10/5/2010(UTC)
Penguin Collector Offline
#8 Posted : Tuesday, October 05, 2010 10:19:58 AM(UTC)
Penguin Collector

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 5/27/2010(UTC)
Posts: 756
United States
Location: San Antonio, TX

Thanks: 145 times
Was thanked: 164 time(s) in 147 post(s)
GirlFromOz wrote:
Actually, you DON'T need a jukebox to cut from multiple carts using DS.

When you go to cut a design DS will ask if you're using a Jukebox. Answer No.

It will then prompt you to insert each cart that is used in the design. (Don't turn the cricut off when you are changing the carts).

Once all the carts used in the design have been recognised by the cricut your design will cut.


Thank you for your post--I want the DS, but my bubble was burst when an early post said you need the jukebox--I have no room for one!
StrawberryShortcake Offline
#9 Posted : Wednesday, October 13, 2010 1:50:31 PM(UTC)
StrawberryShortcake

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 2/22/2010(UTC)
Posts: 217

Thanks: 34 times
Was thanked: 25 time(s) in 25 post(s)
I have DS and love it... Im still learning on it... I like to be able to use it for fonts because you can "weld" the letters together so they cut touching each other...

Good luck and if you need any more help, please let us know.
craftycajun Offline
#10 Posted : Saturday, October 16, 2010 3:45:08 PM(UTC)
craftycajun

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 6/21/2009(UTC)
Posts: 7
Location: Louisiana

Thanks: 1 times
Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
When using the DS how do you make the cuts for shadow when you have welded letters together? I have cut my design but want the shadow effect too. I have not been able to figure that one out.
katschriber Offline
#11 Posted : Wednesday, October 20, 2010 4:26:15 PM(UTC)
katschriber

Rank: Advanced Member

Medals: Cricut Circle Member: Member of the Cricut Circle

Groups: Registered, Circle Member
Joined: 6/16/2008(UTC)
Posts: 52
Location: michigan-in the thumb

Thanks: 14 times
Was thanked: 13 time(s) in 13 post(s)
when creating a shadow for a welded cut you've already designed, you need to do this:

example: we'll use 'troy'

cut out your original 'troy' welded together.

leave it on the page for now.
over the first letter, click the shadow for 't' and place it over your design 't'. when you have it where you want it weld and go to the 'r', and place that where you want it.(don't forget to weld these letters). then go to the 'o', again, place where you want it, weld. now you'll have both sets on the same pg. go back now (remember you've already cut out the original 'troy'. now delete it. and you should have the shadowed background sitting alone on the mat. (poor guy)...now cut him out.

hope i explained this well enought to understand. i'm a shower more than an explainer.

kat
craftycajun Offline
#12 Posted : Wednesday, October 20, 2010 8:16:36 PM(UTC)
craftycajun

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 6/21/2009(UTC)
Posts: 7
Location: Louisiana

Thanks: 1 times
Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
Thanks Kat... I will try this.
LindaScott7 Offline
#13 Posted : Thursday, November 04, 2010 2:39:58 PM(UTC)
LindaScott7

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 10/16/2010(UTC)
Posts: 33
Location: Oklahoma

Thanks: 5 times
Was thanked: 2 time(s) in 2 post(s)
is this were i can get a problem solved?...i have cricut expression and Design Studio, just got it. anyway i loaded it to computer and did all updates. problem is i cant get it to cut. help anyone please?

Thanks

Linda
Doxieluv01 Offline
#14 Posted : Thursday, November 04, 2010 3:01:16 PM(UTC)
Doxieluv01

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 1/18/2007(UTC)
Posts: 9,716
Location: Sunny S. Florida

Thanks: 926 times
Was thanked: 2263 time(s) in 1789 post(s)
LindaScott7 wrote:
is this were i can get a problem solved?...i have cricut expression and Design Studio, just got it. anyway i loaded it to computer and did all updates. problem is i cant get it to cut. help anyone please?

Thanks

Linda


linda what happens when you tell it to cut?
LindaScott7 Offline
#15 Posted : Thursday, November 04, 2010 3:15:37 PM(UTC)
LindaScott7

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 10/16/2010(UTC)
Posts: 33
Location: Oklahoma

Thanks: 5 times
Was thanked: 2 time(s) in 2 post(s)
it does nothing no chirping no cutting, please i have d/l all updates, reinstalled, rebooted, change usb port, im haveing cricut withdrawls and i havent got to use it yet....

thanks for helping and what is the pm button here for?
Doxieluv01 Offline
#16 Posted : Thursday, November 04, 2010 3:24:29 PM(UTC)
Doxieluv01

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 1/18/2007(UTC)
Posts: 9,716
Location: Sunny S. Florida

Thanks: 926 times
Was thanked: 2263 time(s) in 1789 post(s)
LindaScott7 wrote:
it does nothing no chirping no cutting, please i have d/l all updates, reinstalled, rebooted, change usb port, im haveing cricut withdrawls and i havent got to use it yet....

thanks for helping and what is the pm button here for?


PM is a private message that you can send to someone that doesn't post on the messageboard.

when you're in design studio and you have your design on the screen and you press the scissors does a message pop up on the screen?
LindaScott7 Offline
#17 Posted : Thursday, November 04, 2010 3:30:02 PM(UTC)
LindaScott7

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 10/16/2010(UTC)
Posts: 33
Location: Oklahoma

Thanks: 5 times
Was thanked: 2 time(s) in 2 post(s)
oh sorry, and thanks, but in d/s no pop ups, no errors, nothing happens. do you pm for this kind of stuff?

thanks

linda
Doxieluv01 Offline
#18 Posted : Thursday, November 04, 2010 3:37:17 PM(UTC)
Doxieluv01

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 1/18/2007(UTC)
Posts: 9,716
Location: Sunny S. Florida

Thanks: 926 times
Was thanked: 2263 time(s) in 1789 post(s)
LindaScott7 wrote:
oh sorry, and thanks, but in d/s no pop ups, no errors, nothing happens. do you pm for this kind of stuff?

thanks

linda


some people do PM for this stuff or they post on the MB so others can learn from the problem.

do you have your designs on the mat on your DS Screen?

when you press cut are you on the mat where the designs are?
LindaScott7 Offline
#19 Posted : Thursday, November 04, 2010 3:42:50 PM(UTC)
LindaScott7

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 10/16/2010(UTC)
Posts: 33
Location: Oklahoma

Thanks: 5 times
Was thanked: 2 time(s) in 2 post(s)
some info i got was to save as cut file, then reopen, but that did not work either.

linda
Doxieluv01 Offline
#20 Posted : Thursday, November 04, 2010 3:52:58 PM(UTC)
Doxieluv01

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 1/18/2007(UTC)
Posts: 9,716
Location: Sunny S. Florida

Thanks: 926 times
Was thanked: 2263 time(s) in 1789 post(s)
LindaScott7 wrote:
some info i got was to save as cut file, then reopen, but that did not work either.

linda



Try this:

Close DS

Turn off your cricut

unplug the USB cord from both the computer and the cricut

plug the USB cord back in

turn the cricut on (does your computer make a ding dong type noise like new hardware was found? if so try the next steps)

Open DS (i know it takes forever ... LOL)

Click view scroll down to mat view - make sure it says 12 x 12 (since I think you said you have an expression)

Scroll through the cartridge list and click on plantin schoolbook

Place a shape or letter on your screen

load the cartridge into your machine or your jukebox

place paper on your mat in the same squares where the shape is on your mat on the screen

load the mat (you have to click the load mat on the cricut)

click the scissors on the screen to the left of the virtual mat

a pop up should appear that says do you want to search for carts using a jukebox (if you don't have one press no or cancel; if you have a jukebox then press yes or okay)

then it should start to cut
LindaScott7 Offline
#21 Posted : Thursday, November 04, 2010 4:11:25 PM(UTC)
LindaScott7

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 10/16/2010(UTC)
Posts: 33
Location: Oklahoma

Thanks: 5 times
Was thanked: 2 time(s) in 2 post(s)
well how bout that, it worked.. dont know why it worked this time but it did. will let you know if i can cut out my project. thanks for now. oh yeah i had done all that stuff before so now this cart came with puter, how i get others to work. no jukebox here yet.?

thanks

linda
LindaScott7 Offline
#22 Posted : Thursday, November 04, 2010 4:19:18 PM(UTC)
LindaScott7

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 10/16/2010(UTC)
Posts: 33
Location: Oklahoma

Thanks: 5 times
Was thanked: 2 time(s) in 2 post(s)
ok will not cut with my other cart. i have cricut lite cart. got them registered, and marked in my favorite file in d/s. how do i let d/s know that i own these cart.??

thanks

linda
Doxieluv01 Offline
#23 Posted : Thursday, November 04, 2010 5:22:52 PM(UTC)
Doxieluv01

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 1/18/2007(UTC)
Posts: 9,716
Location: Sunny S. Florida

Thanks: 926 times
Was thanked: 2263 time(s) in 1789 post(s)
LindaScott7 wrote:
ok will not cut with my other cart. i have cricut lite cart. got them registered, and marked in my favorite file in d/s. how do i let d/s know that i own these cart.??

thanks

linda


when the pop up box says about the jukebox press no/cancel for the search for cart then when DS prompts you to insert the cart put the cart in the machine (without turning the machine off) and then press okay (after the cart is in the machine) and then it will ask you for the next cart in your design (keep doing this until all carts used in your file
LindaScott7 Offline
#24 Posted : Thursday, November 04, 2010 6:21:27 PM(UTC)
LindaScott7

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 10/16/2010(UTC)
Posts: 33
Location: Oklahoma

Thanks: 5 times
Was thanked: 2 time(s) in 2 post(s)
sorry hubby came home had to fix supper. so i will try that next. thank you so much.

thanks

linda
Doxieluv01 Offline
#25 Posted : Thursday, November 04, 2010 6:23:56 PM(UTC)
Doxieluv01

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 1/18/2007(UTC)
Posts: 9,716
Location: Sunny S. Florida

Thanks: 926 times
Was thanked: 2263 time(s) in 1789 post(s)
LindaScott7 wrote:
sorry hubby came home had to fix supper. so i will try that next. thank you so much.

thanks

linda


no problem. if you need more help send me a PM
Users browsing this topic
Guest
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

Powered by YAF | YAF © 2003-2014, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 1.318 seconds.
nebo-cricut-03