Flag
  • Sign In
  • 0 items
  • Search
Welcome Guest! Please login to enable all features.

Notification

Icon
Error

Scrappin' Sarah Offline
#1 Posted : Saturday, December 25, 2010 6:04:35 PM(UTC)
Scrappin' Sarah

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 11/27/2010(UTC)
Posts: 75
Location: Chicago

Thanks: 10 times
Was thanked: 10 time(s) in 8 post(s)
Okay, so I got my Create this morning (YAHOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!). Haven't had a chance to play around with it MUCH yet, but I wanted to try and make a tree that was 11.5 inches. I sized the dial all the way up to 11.5, pushed cut, and it said something along the lines of, "Characters won't fit, please resize"... so I pushed the Real Dial button, and tried again and again I got the same message. How do I make the really big cuts?

Thanks in advance for the help!!!

~Sarah
Doxieluv01 Offline
#2 Posted : Sunday, December 26, 2010 9:36:49 AM(UTC)
Doxieluv01

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 1/18/2007(UTC)
Posts: 9,716
Location: Sunny S. Florida

Thanks: 926 times
Was thanked: 2263 time(s) in 1789 post(s)
some shapes you wont be able to cut at 11.5 inches as they are to wide. have you tried putting your machine on portrait/landscape mode?
Scrappin' Sarah Offline
#3 Posted : Sunday, December 26, 2010 10:09:05 AM(UTC)
Scrappin' Sarah

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 11/27/2010(UTC)
Posts: 75
Location: Chicago

Thanks: 10 times
Was thanked: 10 time(s) in 8 post(s)
I did put it on portrait and tried to cut then, got the same message, and then I tried it on landscape and got the same message again. I wanted to cut the tree on Graphically Speaking.
Kit Cat's Mom Offline
#4 Posted : Sunday, December 26, 2010 5:14:52 PM(UTC)
Kit Cat's Mom

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 1/5/2008(UTC)
Posts: 5
Location: Columbia, SC

Thanks: 1 times
I would try cutting it in a smaller size, say 4 or 6 inches to see the actual dimensions and how it measures. After that, you should be able to judge how large you can cut it.
Kit Cat's Mom Offline
#5 Posted : Sunday, December 26, 2010 5:20:19 PM(UTC)
Kit Cat's Mom

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 1/5/2008(UTC)
Posts: 5
Location: Columbia, SC

Thanks: 1 times
Were you trying to cut the tree that is on the first button? I don't have this cartridge so I just had to look on my Design Studio. But, what it looks like is the tree measures from the top to the bottom, so you would have to cut it at less than 6 inches. At 6 inches, it still might hang off the edge of the mat and be too big. It is sort of a square shaped tree (about as wide as it is tall) so even if you turn it, it really won't make that much of a difference

You should upgrade to a Cricut Expression! Smile Then you could make a 12" tree!
Scrappin' Sarah Offline
#6 Posted : Sunday, December 26, 2010 5:36:02 PM(UTC)
Scrappin' Sarah

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 11/27/2010(UTC)
Posts: 75
Location: Chicago

Thanks: 10 times
Was thanked: 10 time(s) in 8 post(s)
DeAnnaCatron wrote:
You should upgrade to a Cricut Expression! Smile Then you could make a 12" tree!


Suuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuure. LOL I don't have the space or the money for the Expression. LOL
CanadaJanice Offline
#7 Posted : Sunday, December 26, 2010 5:57:41 PM(UTC)
CanadaJanice

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 5/10/2010(UTC)
Posts: 355
Location: Halifax, NS

Thanks: 34 times
Was thanked: 76 time(s) in 66 post(s)
I have a method that is pretty helpful for figuring out how big a cut will be. There are just a few things to keep in mind:
1. The size is ALWAYS the height as it is shown in the book that came with the cart.
2. If you want to be certain of the size, use real dial size. But, this can make layering tricky.
3. Use you ruler to measure the height and width, then adjust accordingly. If the item is 1 inch high but 2 inches wide, then you will never be able to cut it bigger than approx. 6 inches, as the width will come off the mat, and it won't cut.

Reneeleeak Offline
#8 Posted : Tuesday, December 28, 2010 9:52:58 PM(UTC)
Reneeleeak

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 10/5/2009(UTC)
Posts: 3

Thanks: 3 times
Does your create have a "fit to page button"?
ashleycole1 Offline
#9 Posted : Thursday, December 30, 2010 3:24:30 PM(UTC)
ashleycole1

Rank: Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 12/28/2010(UTC)
Posts: 17

Thanks: 3 times
Was thanked: 3 time(s) in 3 post(s)
does the create have a paper saver button if so try that too. i have never worked on a create only expressions but thought i would try to help. hope everything works out for you
sweetpea1030 Offline
#10 Posted : Friday, December 31, 2010 1:11:59 AM(UTC)
sweetpea1030

Rank: Advanced Member

Medals: Cricut Circle Member: Member of the Cricut Circle

Groups: Registered, Circle Member
Joined: 2/22/2009(UTC)
Posts: 3,496
Location: Earth

Thanks: 3010 times
Was thanked: 1605 time(s) in 1020 post(s)
If I'm understanding you, if you got the Graphically Speaking with your machine and you have either the trial version or full version of DS, or a Gypsy, you would be able to see it on the screen, which really helps with placement. HTH
Confused

Edited by user Friday, December 31, 2010 1:13:29 AM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

scrapalette Offline
#11 Posted : Sunday, January 02, 2011 7:59:16 PM(UTC)
scrapalette

Rank: Advanced Member

Medals: Cricut Circle Member: Member of the Cricut Circle

Groups: Circle Member, Registered
Joined: 7/12/2008(UTC)
Posts: 23,738
United States
Location: FB: Cricut Lovers Guide to Design Space

Thanks: 8542 times
Was thanked: 19029 time(s) in 8504 post(s)
Using fit to page will give you the biggest cut you can get a specific image using a specific size paper (6X12 in your case).

The trial version of DS (which you can download for free) will allow you to design with all the carts that are in the cart library (as new carts are released, you need to update DS) BUT you can only cut with the carts you have on hand as you have to insert the cart before DS will start cutting or have the carts used in the design loaded into a jukebox.
karenbryant5 Offline
#12 Posted : Sunday, January 02, 2011 8:11:32 PM(UTC)
karenbryant5

Rank: Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 12/22/2010(UTC)
Posts: 15

Thanks: 2 times
Im having the same issue--trying to determine the ratio of height/width on certain items. How is that determined or do you just have to "play around" with items? I just got my expression at Christmas.

Thanks in advance!
Users browsing this topic
Guest
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

Powered by YAF | YAF © 2003-2014, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 1.305 seconds.
nebo-cricut-02